I have been thinking about starting a blog for a long time now and finally decided to just go for it!

A little over a year ago I graduated from college, got married, and moved from Maryland to California. It was a very exciting time in my life!  The only problem was that I was in the worst shape of my life and also the heaviest. It was bringing me and my family and family down, I just wasn’t myself, so I made the decision to completely change my attitude towards food and exercise. I started out on Sparkpeople.com and made great progress. Sparkpeople helped me realize how much I was really eating and how little I was really working out. Their program is mostly focused on goal-setting, calorie counting, and of course exercising. In about a year I not only lost over 15lbs, but I started running again, completed full and half marathon ( and a few other races), and began to permanently change my opinion of my body and its capabilities.  The community and SP is incredible and I’m so thankful for everything I learned there! 

In the past couple of months I’ve been drawing more and more inspiration from all the amazing food and healthy lifestyle bloggers out there!  They’ve shown me that there is this whole world of healthy eating and living out there that goes beyond just consuming and burning calories simply to lose weight.  I’ve loved blogging ever since the first blog I wrote on Sparkpeople over a year ago. Now I’m ready to take it a step further. Sure I still have a few lbs I wouldn’t mind getting rid of, but I don’t want to be obsessed with counting every calorie or monitoring every ounce on that darn bathroom scale.  I’m here to figure out what having a healthy lifestyle really means… for me that is 🙂

