I have definitely had an interesting afternoon. There is a lot going on right now with people I care about back home. So I did what I could and basically ended up spending all day on the phone.  Most of my intentions with the blog revolve around the idea of achieving a healthier lifestyle and I think it’s really important to take days like to today into consideration. Being healthy is not just about what we eat or how much we exercise, but also our mental and emotional wellbeing. Its days like today I try to remember how important it is to have a positive attitude. I’m already very little help all the way on the other side of the country, but I’d be more of  a burden than anything else if I were to choose to be negative about the whole situation. Life is always going to have up and downs and I think it’s really important to realize there are somethings thing we just can’t take care of ourselves. It reminds me of the Serenity Prayer that used to hang in many of my high school classrooms:

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference.

I don’t pray a whole bunch, but this has been on my mind a lot recently.

In the world of eats… due to my phone marathon I wasn’t ready to eat lunch until about 4pm. I woke up late today so breakfast wasn’t until about 10, I usually get hungry every 2-4 hours so this was a little extreme for me and definitely not typical at all. I didn’t have anything specific planned but I knew I wanted something warm and comforting. It had been an emotional day and on top of that its been raining which always calls for…. SOUP!  I definitely did not want to cook anything so I dug in the freezer among my assortments of frozen soups from previous batch cookings. Some I could recognize, and some I definitely could not. One thing is for sure: I need to start labeling things I put in the freezer!

This is what I picked….

It turned out to be Lentil Soup! mmmmmmm! This was exactly what I was looking for and really hit the spot.

I paired it with some roasted broccoli and hummus because I was craving some greens.

While it was all heating up I inhaled enjoyed this amazing plum that was just about to go past its prime.

So juicy I had to eat it over the sink.

I think I made up for my lack of fruits and veggies at breakfast. Now I think I’m going to hit up the gym for a nice mind clearing sweat session.  I know going to the gym on Saturday night sounds lame, but I just love it. The apt gym is almost always empty and its like having my own amazing personal gym haha. Don’t worry I don’t always make my Saturday night dates with the gym… occasionally I do have a life haha.

Anyone else like going to the gym on Sat night?

