Tags

, , , ,

Who doesn’t love a good free sample first thing in the morning?

Here is my breakfast, delivered straight from the Sunday newspaper! I had plans for oats, but when i saw this little guy with the words “oatmeal” on the box, my grumbling tummy told me to just dig right in.  They look a lot like shredded mini wheats. The only problem is that they taste nothing like them. The texture is completely different. It has a crunchy texture almost just like cinnamon toast crunch or maybe Life cereal. Not at all what I was expecting. The taste wasn’t bad though and it wasn’t super, super sweet so that was nice. I had it with about half a cup of Almond Milk. Overall not awful, but definitely not a cereal I would buy either.

About 2 hours later I was definitely hungry already again, but thats probably more because I didn’t have any fruit with my breakfast and less because the actual cereal couldn’t hold me over. Unfortunately my drooping eyes won over my stomach because shortly after I started to feel hungry I was completely knocked out. I’m not too surprised since I didn’t sleep much last night.

When I woke up from my nap I was definitely hungry and grabbed one of these guys out of the cabinet.

Organic peanut butter granola bar. I actually bought these on accident. I meant to buy the crunchy harvest spice variety and just grabbed the wrong box. I had one of the harvest spice bars free after the Surf City Half and completely fell in love.  Organic granola bars are something I probably would have never tried if I hadn’t gotten a free sample. There are a lot of things I’m afraid to invest in a whole box/bag/container of without actually trying it first, especially the more expensive thing, that’s why I think free samples are so awesome!

Lunch made me realize I’m pretty much out of all produce right now. I am in desperate need of a big grocery trip! I kind of rounded up what I could and just made a pretty average salad.

I started with a generous bed of spinach, added a 1/4 of an avocado, 1/2 a small steamed yellow squash, and a frozen Sesame Chicken Breast. Instead of dressing I went with red pepper flakes, toasted sesame seeds, and some soy sauce.  I’m gradually starting to love salads more and more without traditional dressing.  I used to think that was impossible!

Off to go see a movie! Not much else to do today its pretty gross and rainy 😦

