Tags

, , ,

Frist I’ll just get the yummies out of the way…

I got pretty hungry about 2.5 hours after breakfast and knew I  wasn’t going to make it to lunch without eating so I grabbed one of these guys….

Peanut butter chewy granola bar. These are the ones I accidently got, they are definitely starting to grow on me but I doubt I’ll buy them again.

I had a few things on my mind for lunch. First up was a grilled veggie sandwich. I guess in my case these are technically “fried” but I used a very minimal amount of pam spray.

Some yellow squash and some chinese eggplant with garlic, ginger powder, soy sauce and hot sauce on sprouted grain bread.

I also made some soup. I had every intention of doing a recipe post today but then I realized I didn’t have about half the stuff I needed for my soup. I decided to wing it anyway and now I totally regret not taking pictures because it turned out so good! Here’s everything together…

Because soup is always better in a mug 🙂 My soup had onions, garlic, fire roasted tomatoes, great northerns, a little bit of brown rice, and a bunch of spices. I also stirred in about a cup of chopped spinach into my mug. Grilled veggie sandwiches are one of my favorites, but I’m sad to say this one was seriously lacking. After eating half I went back and added a little bit of crumbled goat cheese on the second half – way better.

After lunch I decided to go on a run. I took a nap instead. When I woke up I had about another half a cup of soup and a large spoonful of peanut butter. Then I went on a run.

Now for the amazing, incredible, crazy news….

I met a HUGE goal today! Probably close to a year ago I made a personal goal to run a 5k (3.1 miles) in under 33 minutes to help motivate me to work on my speed. I’d say for the past 5 or 6 months I’ve been actively working on meeting that goal and to be quite honest I was starting to get a little discouraged.

Well I haven’t quite decided if these really counts because it wasn’t an organized 5k.. just me running outside by myself… but according to my friend the garmin…

I just ran 3.1 miles in 31:50!!!!!!

Just last week I was feeling a little down because I felt like I just wasn’t getting any faster. I just felt like I couldn’t break that 33 minute barrier. Actually I couldn’t break the 33:34 barrier (my previous best 5k time).  Seriously, I am on cloud nine right now! When I started running I was a solid 12 minute miler. I stayed at that speed for a long, long, long time because I was focusing so much on distance rather than speed. There were some parts of me that honestly thought I might just be a 12 minute miler forever. My secret (well not anymore haha) goal has always been to be a 10 minute miler. I pretty much would daydream of the day I could run 3 miles in 30 minutes, or 6 miles in 60 minutes. Now I’m not dreaming anymore, I’m actually getting there! Lets just say I’m officially a believer – speedwork works!

I’m so proud of myself. Oh and it felt pretty nice to get off that treadmill too 🙂

