Tags

, ,

… I think it might be striking! After the Surf City Half marathon in Feb I was feeling a little “raced-out”. I was happy to think about running just to run and not to really train for anything specific. I am running in a 5k and a 10k in the next couple of weeks, but last night I started thinking about marathons and half marathons and started getting that itch to train for longer distances.

 I know I should embrace this opportunity to train for shorter races and really work on my speed. I really would like to increase my overall running speed, I just feel like improvements in speed show a lot more slowly than improvements in endurance. I can add multiple miles to my longest distance run in just a few weeks, but I feel like it takes months and months to see noticable improvements in speed. So basically I get bored with speedwork very quickly and start getting the itch to train for a longer distance race. The itch isn’t officially here yet, but I definitely can feel it coming. I think that means I should do a speedwork run soon!

I woke up this morning  just before 6am and decided that I needed to stay up. Lately I’ve been sleeping in a little too late and its been affecting my sleep schedule. So I started the morning with this…

A cup of coffee with the last of a carton of vanilla almond milk (so probably a little more than 1/2 cup)

Breakfast was actually something I’ve never had for breakfast before. The last piece of fresh fruit I had in the kitchen was one lonely little kiwi. I was determined to work this into my breakfast this morning, kiwi oats did not sound appetizing, and I was feeling like I needed something more substantial than cereal or a smoothie… so I pulled out the yogurt!

 

my breakfast had:

  • 1 cup Stonyfield low-fat plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cup (last of the box) Kashi GoLean Crunch
  • 1 lonely little kiwi
  • 4 diced prunes
  • a small drizzle of honey

Back in my obsessive calorie counting days a serving of yogurt (to me) was 1/2 cup and whenever I tried to have just a half a cup of yogurt (about 60-80 calories) I was always starving an hour later. Now its obvious to me that less than 100 calories is not even close to enough for a real breakfast but I had pretty much just forgotten about trying yogurt for breakfast again. This was a great breakfast, it had about 300 calories and I’m still feeling satisfied an hour and half later.

PS. Yes, I love prunes! growing up my mom used to serve us warm prunes as dessert. In our house prunes were never just something you ate if needed to get things going, they were just considered something good to eat!

So far today I’ve finished off the almond milk, eaten the last piece of fresh fruit, and emptied my box of cereal. The only veggies I have left are half of  a yellow squash and maybe a 1/3 of a chinese eggplant. It looks like there may be a grilled veggie sandwich in the future for lunch. For now I’m off to clip coupons because I am obviously going grocery shopping today.

