Tags

, , ,

Last night I was way too hungry by the time I got dinner on my plate and after everything was said and done I was still feeling hungry after eating dinner. I’ve had a lot of experiences in the past where waiting too long to eat has led to overeating and I was worried about that happening last night. After years of constantly over eating and then obsessively counting calories I have to admit that sometimes I have a hard time  actually listening to my body to figure out whether or not I’m really hungry and need more food or are just bored/emotional/tired/whatever reason I might feel like eating that’s not actually for hunger.

One of the top reasons I started this blog was to get better at intuitive eating. Rather than eating because its time to eat, or because I have a certain calorie goal to meet, I want to be able to eat because my body needs to be fueled. I want to make peace with food, reject the “diet” mentality, and honor my hunger when it needs to be honored. These are some of the main principles of Intuitive Eating.

After debating back and forth about whether I was actually hungry or not I broke down and calorie counted. After counting calories for so long its a pretty automatic process for me. I pretty much already know, without looking, the calorie information for almost everything I eat. I tallied up the numbers and they told me that I had eaten enough for the day. Even though I felt hungry I chalked it up to just waiting too long to eat.

Then all of a sudden it hit me. This is exactly what I’m trying to get away from. A calculator cannot possibly know if I’ve eaten enough or fueled my body properly for the day! I had just gotten my butt kicked in an intense spin class, eaten a nutritious meal, and my body was telling me that it needed something else.  I took the time to make sure that I wasn’t trying to simply fill an emotional need and then made the choice to have a nutritious snack/dessert.

I had probably the most amazing banana and peanut butter that I’ve ever had.

1 large banana, cinnamon, 1.5ish TBSP of natural peanut butter – all guilt free.

After eating this I felt very satisfied and this could be totally unrelated, but last night for the first time in close to a week, I slept like a baby. Sure I may have eaten a few more calories than some online calculator says I should be eating, but I’m learning to actually listen to my body and I think my body might be thanking me for it. I know it’s probably going to take awhile to get this whole thing down and maybe I never will completely, but last night made me feel good knowing that I’m learning.

This could be unrelated as well, you never know whats just coincidence so I’m hesitant to draw direct conclusions after just one good experience, but this morning was the first morning in a long time that I didn’t wake up absolutely starving. It was  really nice to wake up without that “I’m so hungry I feel almost sick” feeling in my stomach. I was able to take my time and actually enjoy my morning.

I had a delicious hot cup of Irish Breakfast Tea instead of coffee.

When I wake up feeling icky and super hungry black tea is out of the question. My tummy just can’t handle it without food, but for some reason coffee doesn’t bother it.

I had one thing on my mind for breakfast today: eggs! I’m not really sure what to call this, its like an omlette scramble hybrid haha. I don’t really like omelettes because I don’t think the insides get to cook enough (I could just cook them wrong) but I like how it’s all in one piece unlike a clumpy scramble, so heres what I had…

2 whole eggs, 2 egg whites, 2 small mushrooms, 1 green onion, and a 1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese on the insid

I promise I’m done with the marathon length posts.. at least for a little while 🙂

