Tags

, ,

I was about 2 seconds away from pulling out some deli meat for a sandwich when I remember that today is supposed to be a meat-free Friday. I’m really glad I remember because a) I think meat-free Fridays are fun and b) it led me to cook an awesome meal instead of just throwing together a sandwich.

I decided it would be a good idea to have the last bit of my “failed” soup from the other day before it got forgotten. It wasn’t really soup anymore and I thought it might work well as a stuffed pepper stuffing. I was pretty hungry and didn’t want to wait for real stuffed peppers so I popped a pepper in the microwave to steam it so it didn’t have to be baked later on.

The more I thought about the idea, the more excited I got. I really love cooking! I wanted to make it a little more fun so I started to think of things to add.. what isn’t better with mushrooms?

Added in some spinach…

and finished it off with the failed soup….

When I thought I was having a sandwich I had started making some Kale chips, I kind of forgot about them in the oven but they turned out to be my best batch yet! Nice and crunchy. I think in my past attempts the temperature of the oven might have been too high and I might have used too much oil. These were baked at 350 with a very quick spray of pam.

One lovely meat-free n0-bake stuffed pepper and Kale chips.

After I dug in…

I am so happy with the way this turned out! Usually I make stuffed peppers with ground beef or turkey sausage, but I didn’t miss the meat at all. I can’t believe that my fail at soup has led me to an awesome new recipe I would have never thought of otherwise. I can’t wait to work on this recipe more 🙂

