Tags

, , ,

I’m always hesitant to talk about weather since most of my family  and friends live in MD and have had an awful winter, but today was just awesome. Its been awhile since we’ve had really nice “sit by the pool” kind of weather and that’s exactly what today was like.

There have been a few too many chocolate chips and glasses of wine in my life lately (10k celebrating went on a lot longer than it should have!) so I was really craving a light, summery, full of nutrition-make-you-feel-good-from-the-inside-out kind of lunch.

Its been awhile since I had a good green monster smoothie and my spinach was getting ready to call it quits so I knew that was definitely on the menu, but a smoothie alone doesn’t usually do it for me as a meal so I made a tomato salad to go along with it and had half a toasted bagel thin to dip in the salad.

Monster:

  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen mango
  • 3 large handfuls of spinach

Tomato Salad

  • 2 Roma Tomatoes
  • 1/4 onion diced
  • 1/2 tbsp EVOO
  • 1 tsp red wine vinegar

Probably because of over indulging and the lack of water and veggies in my life recently I was feeling a little blah so I decided to do some catching up on the important things…

runner’s world and vitamin D of course! Our bodies only need about 10-15 minutes in the sun to fill up on vitamin D, so my plan was to slather my face and hands with spf, wait 10-15 minutes, and then cover the rest of my body with more spf. Well as soon as I got all set up my mom called and I got distracted. I had put the sunscreen on my face and hands already so I was covered there but after only 30 minutes of talking to my mom I had already started to  get color on my shoulders and legs. Hopefully I didn’t burn!

I honestly felt so much better after spending about an hour out by the pool reading. When I was in a much, much better mood and ready to go for a quick run. I was hungry so I made an easy to digest carby snack…

3/4 cup Total cereal, 1 kiwi, 1/2 a huge banana.

Then I hit the treadmill (I’d had enough sun for the day and it was pretty warm outside) and ran 3 miles in 33:15. I know its supposed to be the opposite, but I always feel slower on the treadmill. I think the scenery helps me a lot more than the tv does.

After the run I really wanted some cottage cheese or yogurt. I couldn’t decide which one so I ended up having both with some pumpkin mixed in..

1/2 cup yogurt, 1/3 cup cottage cheese, 1/4 cup pumpkin. Yea it was a little weird, but it was exactly what I wanted and it tasted really good.

I just put my run into my log and realized I only have a 1/4 of a mile left until I hit 100 miles run so far for the year. My goal is 500 total for the year… I think I might be a little bit behind but I’m still confident I can make it 🙂

