Tags

, , , , ,

.. well almost 5k. It wasn’t quite 3.1 miles, more like 2.5, but it was still quite the adventure.

The race was on the navy base and was completely free, can’t really beat that! The last navy 5k I did had about 300 participants so I was not prepared when I showed up today and there were over 1800 people! Definitely should have gotten there a little earlier. I had pre-registered but apparently my registration had gotten lost? Oh well it happens. Luckily everything worked out and I was still able to get a tshirt ūüôā

Before getting the tshirt¬†the only green I had to wear today was an old college tshirt. Yes, I was on a rugby team that called themselves the Sea Cucumbers… isn’t that normal?

 

The race itself was nice and quick. There was a really awkward turn around with a water station where I had a slight disagreement with a pot hole. Ground:1, Kat: 0.

 

Does this make me a hard-core¬†runner? hahaha.¬†This was the first time I have ever fallen down while running, I’m not the most graceful person so I guess it was bound to happen eventually.¬†The¬†awesome thing is that I had my camera in my hand so it pretty¬† much broke my fall but didn’t break at all!¬†

Final Stats (according to Garmin, there was no official timing )

  • Distance: 2.5 miles
  • Time: 27:45
  • Average Pace: 11:10

I definitely did not run this race all out. I had heard rumors that it wasn’t a full 5k so there was no point in trying to PR. My goal today was just to have fun and enjoy running with an awesome running buddy. Overall it was a great way to spend the morning.

Now its time for lunch/biggest loser date! I’m enjoying my leftovers from last nights dinner..

 

Kobe Beef Chili and amazing Roasted Asparagus.

 

Still no green monster but I’m determined to have one at some point today.

