I had every intention of hitting the gym strong early this morning. I woke up, chugged down some water, and nibbled on a graham cracker or two and just wasn’t feeling it. I think the culprit was my late bed time, I had gotten a little less than 6 hours. For some people I’m sure that’s pretty normal, but I’m definitely an 8 hour girl. Plus I think the graham crackers left me feeling a little icky, definitely not a good pre-workout choice. Turns out there’s partially hydrogenated oils (aka trans fat) in the Honey Maid brand I picked up. Even though it’s a small enough amount that it can say 0 grams on the label I swear it still makes me feel icky.

Moral of the story: I went back to sleep. Sami (the kitty) slept on my back and we both enjoyed an extra 2 hours of zzzs. Now that I’ve got my full 8 hours I feel about a million times better. Workouts are important, but so is sleep and I’ll still have time this evening to hit the gym.

After waking up round 2, I decided it was an oatmeal kind of morning. I also wanted coffee, but didn’t feel like making it so I decided on mocha latte oats.

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/3 banana
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate whey protein
  • 1 spoonful instant coffee
  • sprinkling of chocolate chips

I’ve made oats like this before and loved them but for some reason this time the texture was really off. The taste was fine but the texture was almost gritty? That didn’t happen last time and the only thing I did differently was add banana so I guess that’s what did it. The flavor was still great so I ate them but actually I only got about 2/3 of the way through before I got completely stuffed.

Any ideas on what to do with leftover oatmeal? does it taste ok cold or reheated?

This morning I was reading an article at BreatheMagazine, it was a good article but it wasn’t really until the end that it really started to get me thinking. The article advised that “If you couldn’t eat it 100 years ago, don’t eat it now.” A very good friend of mine in college used to live by almost the same philosophy, he used to always talk to me about how important it is to eat food that’s as close to the source as possible, such as eating an apple instead of eating apple sauce. I guess that’s a bad example since apple sauce isn’t exactly a health nightmare or anything, but the point is that processed foods are usually a lot less nutritious than their in nature, first step of the whole process, grown straight from the ground counterparts.

I am by no means a “clean eater”, but I think it’s definitely something worth thinking about or even something worth working on. I certainly don’t think it could hurt.

 Today I’m going to try not to eat anything that I couldn’t eat 100 years ago and see how it goes 🙂

