Tags

, ,

This morning I decided to try making whole wheat pancakes for the first time. Actually this was the first time I’ve ever made any kind of real pancakes, usually I just roll with a box of bisquick – turns out bisquick contains trans fat,  bummer.

So I woke up, grabbed some joe and almond milk and googled Topeka’d some recipes and just decided to roll with a pretty standard recipe (tweaked a little bit) and then cut it half since it’s just me and the little sis today.  It went something like this…

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 – 1 tbsp brown sugar (just kinda threw it in there)
  • 3/4 – 1 cup unsweetened almond milk (depends on how thick you like them)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Egg

Mix the dry and wet ingredients separate. Beat the egg real good and then beat the rest of the wet stuff with it before mixing it all together. Then throw it on a hot griddle/pan… and of course don’t forget to taste test…

 

Nice and thick and fluffy, just the way I like my pancakes. Actually at first the taste/texture threw me off since I’ve pretty much only had bisquick/restaurant pancakes. But after a few bites they really started to grow on me and with a little bit of honey I really liked the new flavor.

 

My plate – orange and ww pancake with honey. I only had one because I had already nibbled through almost a whole pancake and then I started to experiment a little bit so I knew I’d nibble a bunch more. I had some already diced up apples so I threw a few in the pan and fried them up…

 

then I covered the fried apples with pancake batter. Oh man was that heavenly! no picture because the sis and I pretty much grabbed it from the pan and inhaled.

I think the best part of the whole wheat pancake experience was how filling they were. I only had about 2.5 pretty small cakes and I was stuffed! Usually with pancakes I can eat like 6-10 that size and still not feel full and then I’m hungry like less than an hour later and that’s why I pretty much never make pancakes. The whole batch made about 8 pancakes leaving me with a couple to throw in the freezer for a future breakfast. I’m curious to see how they are reheated.

I completely for got it was April Fools Day… I’m kind of a jokster but not really big on actually  playing  jokes on people and I’m actually a really sore sport about getting jokes played on me. Although I did drip water on my sisters face until she woke up this morning… hahah yea, I know, lame.

Whats your favorite kind of pancake? like I said I was Bisquicks #1 fan and then I started paying attention to ingredient and nutrition facts…

