Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I think this was the first Easter any of us actually spent totally away from home/family so we decided to live it up a little. Instead of having an Easter egg hunt we just went straight for the eggs…

 

Sister and I feasted on an awesome scramble containing  1 egg and 2 egg whites (for each) with leftover smoked salmon and mushrooms. Navy guy, had plain scrambled eggs, I know, boring.

Soon after finsihing up we hit the road for a special destination

 

Hello Hollywood! None of us had ever been and we figured it was the best day all of us could go together. I love road trips, the only problem is that I have the bladder about the size of a chick pea and the thirst of a 3 humped camel. Inevitably we were going to have to find a bathroom, and apparently that is quite the adventure in the Irvine/Anaheim/LA area. I thought we’d stop at a Target since we kind of knew where one was, turns out it was completely closed so we hit up a few other places in the area with no luck and by this point I was about to pee my pants. Finally we broke down and went into a McD. I have pretty much no desire to eat there and I always feel bad using the bathroom at restaurants without buying something, but oh well, you gotta do what you gotta do right?

apparently wrong….

buy something to get a token for the bathroom

This is what we found. I mean in reality it’s not really a bad idea and the bathroom was definitely about a million times cleaner as a result… but still pretty annoying. So I ordered one of these,

 

Non-fat, sugar-free, vanilla latte. And got one of these,

 

Yay bathroom! I’m used to going out of my way to use the bathroom, but this was a little ridiculous. I remember when I studied abroad running into some public bathrooms in Europe where you had to pay 50 cents or so just to use the restroom. I used to think that it was absurd to have to pay to pee, but they do have to pay someone to clean them. I was happy with my latte, but honestly at the time I think I would have rather just forked over some change to pee.

After all that was over it was time to feast on our pre-packed lunches. A nice salad, and some more salad haha.

 

A smallish spinach salad with 2 ounces of turkey, cucumber, 1/4 avocado, sesame seeds, and soy sauce. Then the real feast…

 

Tomato Salad! Tomatoes, onions, basil, olive oil, and red wine vinegar with 1/2 a slice of Ezekiel bread for dipping.

 It was all super fresh tasting and very satisfying. I forgot how much I like the taste of salad that’s had a few hours to sort of marinate 🙂 Plus I think we were all glad not to have to settle on something like McDs for an actual meal.

While in Hollywood we had a really great time walking the walk of stars and putting our hands and feet into the cement molds of various celebrities. Apparently Emma Watson and I have pretty much exactly the same size feet, amazing huh? haha. Hollywood in general was a lot different from what had I expected, but it was still a blast and I’m really glad I had the chance to go with my sister 🙂

We chose a cute italian restaurant for dinner that I actually can’t remember the name of right now. We started out with bread served with this awesome crush olive/olive oil stuff.

I had 2 pieces and then a thrid might have snuck in during my meal. I think my strong desire to eat so much bread was probably a result of not having a real snacks today since I had that latte. 

 After scanning the the past section a few times I went over the the appetizers where I found exactly what I wanted – Seared Tuna. Seared Tuna is probably one of my favorite things to order because a) its delisicous and b) I can’t make it myself (or a least I’m too afrain to serve myself raw fish) so I don’t mind paying for it.

 

Seared tuna with green apple and arugula salad in a lemon dressing.  At first I was hesitant about the apple salad, honestly I’m just not a fan of mixing in fruit with leafy green salads but I had JUST made fun the husband for ordering the same old usual thing and not trying anything new so he threw that right back in my face. In the end it was totally worth it, I actually loved the salad! Even if I hadn’t liked the salad the tuna was totally worth it…mmmm raw fish is just so much tastier!

After dinner we decided we better hit the road if we wanted to get home in time to hit the gym. For some reason the arch on my left foot was killing me when we got home, I guess my shoes just weren’t meant for walking all day in. I decided to take it easy and not really workout tonight but I did help my sister finish her first ever run on a treadmill! Shes hoping to try out for the cross country team at her high school this fall, I’m so excited for her!

I hope everyone had an awesome Easter today!

