Tags

, , , , ,

… or just plain lazy mode?

Navy guy and I have talked about this about 100 times. It seems that whenever we go somewhere or have some one visiting us we automatically go into this “vacation mode” where exercise decreases and food intake increases. I mean its understandable to eat out more while vacationing, but we both have noticed ourselves just being more lenient in general, as if some how those extra calories won’t “count” since we’re on “vacation.”

If we really are on vacation and it’s just for a couple of days then it usually isn’t an issue, and actually I’d venture to say that its pretty normal overall. The problem arises when its a longer stay, isn’t really a vacation, or is in the form of someone else on vacation visiting us.  The first few days my sister was here I saw this happening, we were eating out and then going out for ice cream, staying up too late, and then skipping workouts ect. I knew what was happening I just didn’t really know how to stop it.

It seems like everything sort of starts to snowball… it starts with eating out too much, the higher sodium intake and decreased water intake make me feel bloated and dehydrated so I skip a workout. Skipping a workout leaves me with less energy overall, plus the less than stellar food choices and over eating make me feel overly full and uncomfortable. I stay up too late, don’t feel like working out because I just feel kind of gross in general, and I’m seriously lacking in overall energy.

I feel like last night was kind of the final straw. I stayed up way too late and when my alarm went off this morning I felt like absolute death. Warning TMI – when I woke up this morning I felt like my mouth and throat hadn’t felt a drop of water in weeks and my pee was not far from being the color of iced tea. A little bit of an exageration, but seriously, it was dark! A good way to tell if you’re properly hydrated is by the color of your urine, normally it should be a very, very pale clear yellow. Mine usually has very little color at all.

Seriously, there is no food out there tasty enough to leave me wanting to feel like this. For the past 3 days I’ve been telling myself to “snap out of it” but I keep falling into the same bad pattern over and over again. When this happens I usually find that the best thing to do is to come up with a solid game plan for HOW I’m going to change what I’m doing.

Over the next couple of days I want to focus on a few key goals to help me get back into my normal healthy habits and to get some energy back in my life.

The goals:

  • Drink 72 ounces of water (3 refills on the water bottle)
  • Eat a fruit or vegetable at every meal
  • Eat at least 5 servings of fruits/veggies a day
  • Exercise a minimum of 10 minutes a day, minimum of 30 minutes every other day

These are the absolute minimum bare bones goals I have to help keep myself healthy. If I can do more, then great! Obviously I could (and usually do) do much more, but for me, trying to change too much at once usually backfires and leads to binges and even more missed workouts. My goal is to slowly and steadily build back up healthy habits and not let the guest-fest (back to back guest for the next week and a half) take over my life and leave me feeling miserable.

Sorry for the lack of visuals but yesterday I had no motivation to take pictures of the Easter candy eating spree I went on and today I was feeling so foggy and out of it I forgot just about everything. I left the camera in the car while I was at home and then when we left I forgot my wallet at home… yikes.

How do you deal with guests or being on vacation? Do you set goals for yourself when you feel off track or  do you just snap right back into it?

