Tags

, , , ,

At the Zoo! My sister and I got up bright and early to visit the San Diego zoo. I’ve been about 4 times already and have found that the animals are the most active/lively in the morning. We started with a quick and filling breakfast..

 

Nutrigrain waffles with some vanilla yogurt and half of a small yellow mango. I think they’re called Manilla Mangos, but don’t quote me on that.

If you’ve ever been to the San Diego zoo you know how huge and hilly it is. After walking around for about 3 hours we were starting to get pretty tired and pretty hungry. I always pack food to bring to the zoo but we were really slim on groceries this morning so I  just crossed my fingers and hoped that there would be something other than burgers and fries to eat at the zoo…

We found a decent little cafe/grill and I debated back and forth between a salad and a wrap

 

I ended up with the wrap. It had tons and tons of lettuce with minimal amount of sautéed mushrooms, bell peppers, zucchini, and onions.

 

It did come with this cute little side of hummus (and that’s pretty much why I picked it).

 

Overall this wasn’t bad but it wasn’t really as good as I expected it to be either. There was way too much wrap and lettuce and there wasn’t enough flavor, it coud have used some olives or artichoke hearts.In the end I wished I had gotten the salad. I ended up eating half there and then the second half about 3 hours later back at home.

 

I also borrowed a few (x3) of these 🙂

Yesterday I set a couple of goals to help get me get back into my healthy groove, up my energy, and to just overall feel less crappy. I met all of the goals and woke up this morning feeling a million times better! So far today I’ve met almost half my water goal and I’ve definitely met my exercise goal.

The only real downside is that I went totally wild with the Easter candy today. I know a lot of people turn to bite size/mini candies to help control portion sizes but it totally backfires for me. It makes me feel like I haven’t really had that much so its ok to keep going back for more. Normally I wouldn’t have a problem turning down things like Snickers or Butterfingers, and I never even get cravings for candy bars like that, but something about the minis makes much away like crazy.

How do you feel about mini candies? does it help you portion control or do you go overboard? What do you do with leftover candy?

