Tags

, , , , , ,

This is my first post using Windows Live Writer, I’m kind of excited haha. I had a blog on SparkPeople  for over a year but that was very basic.  I’ve just been using plain old wordpress since starting KLB, I’m still so new to everything and every time I learn something new or find an easy/faster way to do something it’s just tickles me 🙂

Today has been going pretty nicely. I had plans to cook for lunch but I was out voted 3 to 1 for the Cheesecake Factory. I definitely like the Cheesecake factory, I don’t think I’ve ever been disappointed with anything I’ve ordered from there. The only problem is that it’s so hard to eat a normal portion there! I can eat half of a meal and still eat way more calories than I normally would.

Case in point:

IMG_0471

I ordered the Tai Lettuce Wraps

IMG_0472

yummy chicken

IMG_0473

Dipping Sauce

A) they sounded really delicious and B) I wanted to get in some veggie action (lettuce, carrots, cucumber, and bean sprouts). According to some info I’ve found across the internet (who knows how reliable it is) there is a little over 1000 calories in this meal.

I was pretty hungry when we got there so of course I had some bread.

IMG_0470

It was brown, so I felt like it was wheat and therefore at least sort of healthy… but who knows really. Of course eating plain bread really does nothing for my hunger so I kept nibbling and probably ate at least 150 calories worth of bread.

I have to admit that I nibbled on Navy guys fried chicken sandwich with cheese, so that could have easily added on another 100 calories.

I’m not trying to say that there’s anything wrong with my lunch necessarily, total I had in the range of 750-850 calories. Normally if I had eaten at home I most likely would have had about 350-450.  The problem is that my hunger level was virtually the same! I still wanted the same amount of afternoon snacks… and since it hadn’t really registered how much I had eaten at lunch I still ate snacks as usual.

I do not like to obsess over calories, that is not what I’m trying to do. I guess my point is that, at least for me, its very hard to pick a healthy meal and not over eat when there is such a large amount of food in front of me. When I was calorie counting regularly I would look up nutrition information and pick my meal before even leaving for the restaurant.

In the end I think the real issue is simply that we’ve been eating out way too much. If it was a rare treat I wouldn’t worry about it so much.

How do you feel about dining out? Do you try to look up nutrition information for the restaurants you are eating at?

