Tags

, , , , ,

After my last post I was feeling a lot better 🙂 The afternoon pretty much went as planned (minus the trip to the library), I had a quick and easy but super yummy lunch…

IMG_0597

Morningstar Spicy Black Bean Burger on whole wheat pita with some stir fried veggies with sesame seeds.

I made the stir fry with frozen broccoli, peas, carrots, yellow squash, and asparagus. I rely a lot on frozen veggies because I’m not very good at planning my meals. My frozen staples are broccoli and carrots because fresh ones usually don’t get used up fast enough in our house and the frozen variety are easier/faster to cook. Sometimes I freeze fresh veggies myself, like asparagus, I can never get through a full bunch fast enough so I just chop it up and throw it in the freezer as soon as I get it back from the store. Since I’m usually cooking for just one or two, and since I am lame at meal planning like being spontaneous in the kitchen, the freezer is my best friend 🙂

I was feeling really snacky after eating lunch and headed right for the cereal. I go through phases with cereal and right now it seems to be my go to snack – ok by me since it seems to nip my snacky feeling in the bud.

IMG_0599

3/4 cup Total, 1/2 cup Almond Milk, and some chopped up mango mmmm.

I treated myself to a nice stroll around the grocery store tonight. Usually grocery shopping ends up getting rushed and is lame, but I honestly love grocery shopping and just taking my time meandering the store looking for new fun things.

Sometimes new and fun things lead to an unfun grocery bill, but I was pleased to see that the total was actually a good $15-20 less than it usually is for big trips 🙂 🙂 Near the end of my grocery trip my stomach was more than a little grumbly and everything started to look soooo good. That was my cue to take my new and exciting goodies to check out and get the heck out of there, haha I could have bought half of the store 🙂

Exciting new things:

  • Cocoa powder (looking forward to chocolaty goodness in oats and smoothies)
  • Frozen Cherries (never tried them! again for oats and smoothies)
  • New Coffee (a little higher quality than I usually get – excited!)
  • Chicken Thighs (trying out a new recipe for dinner tonight)
  • Kalamata Olives (love but never buy)
  • Unsweetened Baker’s Chocolate
  • Dates (never ate them as a kid because I thought they looked like bugs haha)
  • Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese and Triscuits (also love buy never buy)

Right now I am enjoying the later while dinner is cooking….

IMG_0605

with a glass of white wine (needed some for the recipe). 🙂

