Tags

, , , ,

Tonight I tried out this awesome looking Mediterranean Chicken recipe from fitness magazine. The whole premise was about eating healthy on a budget and so the article has 7 different recipes that all sort of work into each other with the leftovers, the first was the chicken recipe.

Ingredients:

  • Chicken Thighs
  • Chicken broth
  • White Wine
  • Garlic, Thyme, Salt, and Pepper
  • Kalamata Olives
  • Lemon
  • Olive Oil
  • Asparagus
  • whole wheat couscous

Cooking is kind of like therapy for me, so basically the number one reason I chose this recipe was because it looked like it would be fun and a little more involved than some of my usual dinners. Plus I haven’t had chicken thighs in forever! I was more than a little excited to break out of my nothing-but-boneless-skinless-chicken-breast habit.

Usually I sort of wing recipes and change them to fit whatever I have on had but today I decided to actually follow the recipe step by step and use the exact ingredients (minus the couscous, I seriously dislike that stuff, I replaced it with some seriously delicious mushrooms).

The Final Product:

IMG_0608

IMG_0609 

Mediterranean Chicken with roast asparagus and mushrooms.

The verdict: it was delicious, but not what I expected.  It actually ended up tasting incredibly similar to an old family recipe that I love pretty dearly, so I really liked it, but I was looking for something new.

I decided not to post the recipe because I’d rather work on a version of my families recipe to share. Its just as good and even easier/cheaper to make 🙂

I am really looking forward to the trying out the leftover recipe from fitness, hopefully that one will turn out to be a little more exciting.

The real winner tonight turned out to be this little guy

IMG_0606

Unsweetened Baker’s Chocolate.

For awhile I’ve been getting now I’ve been enjoying darker and darker chocolate, I made it all the way up to 80% cocoa and tonight decided to take the total plunge. I bit right in and immediately thought “holy crap this is bitter!” Then after the initial bitterness went away the flavor was wonderful. Its definitely not going to replace my everyday chocolate just yet, but its flavor is soooooo good I think it will make a really good compliment to things that are already a little sweet…. like kettle corn….

IMG_0610

This was amazing! I shredded just half of a half of piece of chocolate (only 35 calories) over warm kettle corn (100 calorie bag). Since the popcorn itself was slightly sweet the chocolate flavor was seriously perfect! This might become a regular dessert around here 🙂

Do you like your chocolate dark? how dark? Would you be willing to try unsweetened chocolate? I never thought I’d go for it but I’m having a lot of fun experimenting 🙂

