Tags

, , , , ,

I totally dominated actually cleaned up and used my kitchen today! I don’t know whether my theory about the mess drowning out my creativity was right or if it was just a coincidence, but I felt way better and way more creative as soon as I got things cleaned up.

For lunch I was craving bread and fruit, odd combo but I decided to just roll with it. I started off my slicing up a pear and “grilling” it in a pan with a little bit of Pam spray.

IMG_0723

Then I toasted up some Ezekiel bread and spread one half with 1 TBSP almond butter and the other half with a bit of plain yogurt. I think either cream cheese or vanilla yogurt would have been better but I didn’t have either.

IMG_0724

Topped it with the soft grilled pear and then generously sprinkled with cinnamon.

IMG_0726

I think this would be amazing with French Toast for breakfast!

Later on I decided to get a little adventurous and make some hummus! Hummus definitely makes the top 10 on my favorite foods list but I usually avoid making my own because I don’t have a food processor, just a blender.

IMG_0733

Kalamata Olive and Garlic Hummus

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup Kalamata olives + about 2 tbsp liquid
  • 1 can chick peas + some liquid
  • 1 large clove of garlic
  • 1 tbsp tahini

I started with the olives  and garlic in the blender and slowly add chick peas about a 1/4 cup at a time and liquid as needed. I used the pulse feature until the mixture was an almost hummus-like consistency and then I resorted to the “baby food” blending level. Maybe not as smooth as store bought hummus, but still pretty tasty.

The only thing I’d change is the olives. I went for the cheaper ones and I’m pretty convinced they are not Kalamata olives at all, but just regular old green olives that have been dyed dark purple and drowned in salt. Lesson learned, don’t skimp on quality olives.

For dinner I thought I wanted a salad, but apparently I was wrong. After I started putting everything together all I could thing about was bread and the salad looked totally unappetizing. What is up with this bread craving? So basically I just took all the salad stuff I had put in a bowl and transferred it onto a flat out bread thingy 🙂

IMG_0734

IMG_0737

Flat bread with 2 tbsp hummus, sprouts, spinach, and a hard boiled egg. On the side, lemon ginger sweet potato fries and roasted asparagus.

For whatever reason a lot of snackage went down today…

IMG_0727

1/2 cup FF yogurt, 1/4 cup cheerios, 1/4 cup Kashi crunch, and mango

IMG_0731

Extra Sharp Cheddar Cheese x about 5!

Plus a good deal of undocumented dark chocolate and licorice jelly beans. I definitely think I fell victim to some mindless/emotional eating today. It was one of those days where I knew I just needed to get out and take a walk or hit the gym, but I didn’t, and for no good reason. I simply just made a bad decision, it happens. Tomorrow is a new day!

