Tags

, , , ,

When I woke up this morning the only thing on my mind was a hot bowl of grits with american cheese and a dippy egg on top. Sadly, I had no grits, no american cheese, and only hard boiled eggs. My stomach was also screaming with hunger, which doesn’t usually happen, so I had to come up with something fast.

I made a cup of coffee and just started pulling things out of the cabinets and fridge. This is what resulted…

 IMG_0740

Cheesy Sweet Potato and Black Bean Oats topped with a leftover hard boiled egg.

IMG_0739

In the mix:

  • 1/4 cup chopped sweet potato
  • 1/3 cup black beans, rinsed
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 light garlic and herb laughing cow wedge
  • 1 hard boiled egg
  • I started by boiling the sweet potato in 1/2 cup of water until it was soft and then added the oats and cooked them as normal. After it was all done I added the beans and cheese.

I’m not sure this is something I’d eat very often, but it was a great alternative for this morning. I just did not want anything sweet at all and we are down to the bare bones with groceries. Sadly, I only ate about 2/3 before my stomach started to turn and I had to rush to the bathroom… I’m about 99% sure this had nothing to do with the oats though. More likely that my stomach was already upset combined with drinking black coffee on an empty belly. yikes.

Later on I ran a bunch of errands, felt super productive, came home, went to make lunch and realized… I forgot to go to the grocery store. In my defense all my other errands were on the other side of town, I got totally distracted.

IMG_0741

I rummaged through the freezer and found some leftover spaghetti squash. I popped it in the micro then topped it with some spinach, goat cheese, pepper, and red pepper flakes. Quick, simple, and delicious, only now I really need to go to the grocery store.

But instead I decided a 30 minute power nap would be better. An hour and half later… Saturdays are supposed to be lazy right ?

IMG_0617

that’s what my napping partner in crime told me 🙂

