Tags

, , , , ,

For the past couple of days my exercise motivation has been sort of lacking. I haven’t been sleeping well at night so when it came time to workout all I really wanted to do was nap. Today I decided to take a few tips from Caitlin and reclaim my exercise mojo.

Instead of doing what I had planned (speed work) I told myself it was ok to do what I really wanted (have a fun run around an old favorite route). I also made a deal that if I went out for a run I’d get to check out a new book and take it to the park to read.

The Run:

  • Distance: 4 miles
  • Time: 46:47
  • Average Pace: 11:41

It had been a long time since I’d run the 4 mile loop and man did I forget about the hills! There is one short, very steep hill right at the beginning of mile 2, mile 3 has two long slow climbs that are probably each about a quarter mile long, and then the last .2 is all uphill.

At first I started off with a goal to finish right around 45 minutes. After the first mile, before I even hit any of the hills, I was already pacing a little too slowly to hit my goal. I almost got frustrated but then I remembered that the whole reason I was doing this run instead of the planned one was to have fun.

I’ve realized recently that I struggle with the concept that not every run has to be my best run and that I don’t have to beat my time every time I run the same path. I tried my best to let go of my “goal time” and just run just to run. It really was nice!

I think its important to set goals and strive for improvement, but sometimes exercise should just be for fun! I felt really good when I got back. Too bad I totally forgot it was Sunday and that the library was closed! So I made myself an amazing smoothie instead haha

IMG_0752

So refreshing! Into the blender went:

  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • a little bit of frozen blueberries, strawberries, and cherries
  • 1/2 scoop whey protein
  • 1/2 spoonful of almond butter

Pre-run I had probably the best turkey burger ever. It was life changing.

IMG_0749

This burger contains: ground turkey, turkey sausage, spinach, brown rice, cilantro, and black beans. Served on a bagel thin with avocado, tomato, and tzatziki sauce.

IMG_0751

The new runners world magazine has this really interesting recipe for burgers that include spinach and grains. I sort of played around with it last night and pretty much the only thing I ended up doing the same was the spinach part, but they turned out way better than expect. I don’t know if its the spinach but I’ve never had a turkey burger that’s so moist! I’ll share the recipe soon 🙂

I had dinner planned out almost all day…

IMG_0754

Peanut butter and jelly on sesame Ezekiel bread 🙂

IMG_0755

The craving came out of nowhere, I haven’t had a standard PB&J in I don’t know how long. It was perfect 🙂 and I’ve decided that peanut butter tastes way better than almond butter on the sesame bread.

Speaking of nut butters, Lisa is having an awesome Justin’s Nut Butter giveaway right now. I had never heard of Justin’s before, but all I hear is great things, and who could say no to chocolate nut butters? Check it out! 🙂

