Tags

, , , ,

I woke up this morning feeling on top of the world. For the first time in about 3 nights I actually slept. I fell asleep when I went to bed, I stayed asleep, and I woke up naturally, feeling amazing. I always underestimate the power of sleep and how big a difference it makes in how you feel. So wonderful.

Breakfast was simple

IMG_0756

1 cup Total cereal, 2 kiwis chopped, 1/2 cup Almond Breeze, 1 fried egg.

IMG_0757

I hate soggy cereal so I always pour in my milk at the last possible second and then eat it super fast.

I finally made it to the grocery store today. Mostly I stocked up on produce with a few extra staples like cottage cheese and bread thrown in there.  My total was less that $30! I was pretty proud of myself. Usually I tend to get kind of carried away in the grocery store, especially when I’m by myself. Some girls buy shoes and purses… I buy food haha.

For some reason I was all about simple today, I think it had to do with the amazing summer-like weather (finally!).

IMG_0758

Lunch = 1 large carrot sliced, 2 large celery stalks sliced, and a toasted sandwich thing. I love how they get slightly tough when toasted, makes them the almost pita-like.

IMG_0759

For dipping, 2 huge globs of homemade hummus and tzatziki sauce. Probably a good 3 tbsp each.

After lunch I was attacked by a random cookie craving. I didn’t have any cookies so I had 1/2 of a cliff bar instead.

IMG_0760

Banana Nut Bread flavor. This was my first time trying this flavor – definitely not my favorite, but great at satisfying sudden onset cookie cravings haha.

For whatever reason I’d probably have to say that my most common sudden gotta-have-it-now attack cravings are for cookies. I love soft and chewy cookies. Preferably with some form of chocolate involved, unless we’re talking snicker doodles.

But my favorite dessert is hands down are fudgy chewy brownies. I think its weird that if given the choice, brownies would win every time, but when I get cravings its always for cookies… Even funnier is that probably 9 times out of 10 I’ll crave savory before I crave sweet… something about cookies.

I think maybe it was the college dining hall, they had the best cookies but the crappiest brownies (more like dry cake)….

Do you get random attack-like cravings? Are you sweet or savory? Cookies or brownies? Do you think its important to listen to your cravings or avoid them? I’ve learned through tons of trial and error that, personally, if its a strong sudden craving, that ignoring it will likely lead to a binge. If its more of a “I feel like having a ____”, quiet kind of craving, I’ll usually forget about it 20 minutes later.

