Tags

, , , , , ,

*This was supposed to post last night, not sure what happened, but here it is now :)*

Since I’ve sort of been in a workout funk lately “Something is Better Than Nothing” has been my gym motto. I start by convincing myself to do just 10 or 20 minutes, like last night, I didn’t feel like running at all, so I said “just do 20 minutes on the stair stepper, something is better than nothing” and I ended up doing 30 minutes. I think getting out the door is usually the hardest part, once I get going I usually get into the workout groove. 

Today I did a quick, intense run on the treadmill. I started at 5.5 mph and added .1, or .2 every 1/4 mile for 2 miles. The end result was 2 miles in 20:38 (pretty good for me 🙂 )  plus 10 minutes of walking. I think this counts as a tempo run? I’m still learning…

Since the cardio was so quick today I felt like I couldn’t make any more excuses to put off strength training, the weights area was totally empty, and I had plenty of time. I didn’t really have a plan and wasn’t really sure what to do but I ended up doing bicep curls, shoulder presses, lat pull down, and chest press, all 3 sets with 10 reps.  Nothing spectacular, but I did it, and 4 random strength moves are better than no strength moves right?

Peanut butter was on my mind all afternoon and I kind of just wanted to have another PB&J for dinner. I decided to go with something a little more fun instead.

IMG_0775

1 PB&J nutri-grain waffle, 1 egg dippy egg and waffle.

IMG_0776

with a bowl of frozen blueberries and cherries for dessert 🙂

.. A little bit later I found myself in the kitchen with a banana and peanut butter. Staying up late has definitely increased my night time snacking!

Do you use any mental tricks or mottos to get yourself to workout?

