I completely forgot today was Friday!! I am feeling absolutely terrific today! After 2 days of feeling under the weather I feel like amazing today in comparison. Plus I just down a huge cup of green tea, so I’m on a major energy boost right now.

IMG_0810

Peach Green Tea: 2 cups hot water, 1 herbal peach tea bag, 1 green tea bag.

I love the boost I get from green tea. I am a big time coffee fan, but I’m not a fan of the jitters, anxiety, and crash that comes along with it if I have too much. Green tea seems to give just as many positive effects, without as many of the negative ones, at least for me 🙂

I was happy to start my day off today with a real meal.

IMG_0803

Its kind of like a smiley face 🙂 2 Nutrigrain Eggo waffles, 1 fried egg, some cottage cheese, and an orange.

I ended up eating the 2 waffles together like a sandwich. Is there anything cottage cheese doesn’t taste good with?

Lunch was a big salad made with Salsa Chicken that I made the other night, but never actually ate much of.

IMG_0809

I threw in romaine and spinach, tomatoes, mushrooms, 1/4 cup black beans, 1/4 cup corn, 1/4 avocado, chili powder, red pepper flakes, and a splash of lime juice. Tossed (Ok actually I put a lid on and shake…). Topped with Salsa Chicken.

I first heard about Salsa Chicken on SparkRecipes, its one of the most popular recipes over there. I make mine a little bit different, but I’d like to think its probably just as good :) 

Into the slow cooker for about 4-6 hours:

  • 2 frozen chicken breasts (I have a small slow cooker)
  • 1 cup salsa (or 1 can Ro-Tel plus some salsa)
  • a few splashes of hot sauce
  • chili powder, garlic powder (or a chopped clove of garlic), red pepper flakes, and cumin

I love this for nights when I know I’ll be home late and will want dinner fast. I usually shred the chicken up, it pretty much just falls apart, and use it for sandwiches, salads, tacos, burritos, or just over rice and black beans.

I think I’m going to visit the track for some nice speed work and then maybe some weights (gasp!). After 2 days of just sitting around I’m really looking forward to some sweat 🙂

do you like cooking in a slow cooker? what’s your favorite recipe? I’m a huge fan of the slow cooker, I swear the longer something cooks the better it tastes. My favs are salsa chicken and BBQ pulled pork..mmm..

I hope everyone is having a fantastic Friday!!

