Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve been trying to ignore it and deny it mostly because for some reason I feel like my reasons for being stressed aren’t valid, but the fact of the matter is, I am stressed.

When I get stressed I tend to snack more and nap more. For whatever reason being tense makes me really sleepy. Basically most of my free time lately has been devoted to naps, I practically had to force myself to go to the gym tonight I was so sleepy.

Usually being so tired is a sign that I just need to take a break. But after taking 2 days off I was only feeling more tired and knew it was time to really examine what was going on with me. I can’t really get into much now, but basically I could use a Navy break way more than a workout break. I don’t mean to sound like such a downer, I know everything is going to workout, I was just driving myself even more crazy trying to ignore it.

Being healthy = being emotionally healthy = not ignoring your emotions.

I think stress is particularly important when it comes to health. Stress can lead to a number of unhealthy habits and side effects. I know snacking and napping aren’t going to kill me, but they can certainly end up having some negative effects over time.

Right now instead of obsessing over things I can’t change, I’m trying to focus on what I can do to look on the bright side and relax. I know that doing things like going to the gym, taking time to myself to just read or watch tv or whatever, and experimenting in the kitchen all help to ease stress.

Today’s result: A 4 mile walk-run while watching Glee and Sweet Potato Stir Fry with Ginger Peanut Sauce

I started by frying up about 1/2 of a medium sweet potato in 1/2 tbsp of olive oil. After it was about half way done I added in broccoli and mushrooms since they wouldn’t take as long to cook.

IMG_0838

For the sauce : 1tbsp peanut butter, some grated ginger (powdered works fine too), and 1 tbsp soy sauce.

 IMG_0836

Micro for about 15 seconds (if the peanut butter is stiff) and whisk together with a few splashed of almond milk until desired consistency.

IMG_0837

Once all the veggies were tender I toped with some stir fried Tofu (leftovers) and topped with about half of the peanut sauce.

IMG_0839

I really loved the sweet potato and peanut flavor combo!

So basically what I mean to say is, sorry for the sporadic and random topic posting. Things will be a lot better by next week.

What are your favorite ways to relax when you’re feeling stressed? for me its usually reading, cooking, cardio (when I’m not napping), napping, and I think I have to add blogging to the list. Its pretty nice to talk type out how I’m feeling and get it of my chest. I have to admit I’m kind of a bad planner, which is probably what would help most 🙂

