Tags

, , ,

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned it before, but Navyguy is huge Star Wars fan. So when a friend mentioned that Williams-Sonoma was selling Star Wars pancake molds (pancakes being a favorite Navy guy food) we pretty much planned our day around shopping and pancake making/eating haha :).

I whipped up some whole wheat pancake batter, the recipe isn’t perfect yet but its still pretty tasty and healthy.

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1.5 tbsp brown sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 3/4 cup almond breeze
  • 1 egg and 2 egg whites

Then the fun began!

IMG_1003

I’ve never used pancake molds before and it definitely took a few tries to figure out. The keys are high heat and spraying the molds with pam.. I don’t care how nonstick they claim to be lol.

I got the bright idea that Star Wars shaped eggs were also going to happen.

IMG_1004

Unfortunately the molds did not have the same opinion haha. I think maybe if we pulled out the electric skillet it might have worked a little bit better.

Eventually we had a few plates that actually looked pretty decent.

IMG_1005

Navyguy’s plate, the Jedi Pancake Masters would be proud hahaha! During the whole cooking process I picked and snacked on various failed pancakes so I actually just had some yogurt and blueberries instead of an actual plate of pancakes.

IMG_1007

I had a little sugar free syrup on top. I know it really isn’t “real food” but it sure was tasty.

We continued our nerdy themed night by watching Lord of the Rings and doing a workout video 🙂

