Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Its sort of hard to believe that one year ago today I finished my first marathon. It was brutal and honestly I never thought I’d ever consider trying again. Funny thing is that I’ve been working all day on a marathon training plan….

I don’t really like to talk about my first marathon experience because I feel so different about it than most people do. To be honest I was pretty defeated and disappointed at the end. I didn’t have that life changing sense of accomplishment I always hear other people talk about. It wasn’t at all the experience that I had imagined it to be and most of that was completely my fault. I wasn’t ready or prepared, I didn’t take training seriously, and I let myself get totally overwhelmed instead of having fun with it.

I guess that’s the reason that I’m so excited to try again. I have a totally new outlook, plus I have a much better grasp on what I’m getting myself into, and I guess you could say a lot more respect. I might not be able to knock an hour plus off of my time (which I would secretly like to do), but I will be able to have fun. At least this time around I won’t be terrified and I won’t be trying to hold myself to some ridiculous standards.

I am excited! Now all I have to do is actually register haha..

I hope everyone had a fun Memorial Day! Navyguy and I really enjoyed having the day to just relax. Sometimes its so nice to sort of just do nothing 🙂

The day started off with some leftover Star Wars whole wheat pancakes, one with peanut butter and one with plain yogurt and some syrup. I’m still really impressed with how full I stay from whole wheat pancakes.

Lunch was at Chick-fil-A by request of Navyguy and due to the fact that we had coupons for free milkshakes.

IMG_1011

Small Peach Milkshake. I have a problem and can’t pass up anything free, before today I don’t think I’d had a milkshake for 2 or 3 years! It was delicious of course, but gave me a brutal tummy ache. I only made it through about half. I can’t believe that was the small!

IMG_1009

 IMG_1010

Actual lunch was a Grilled Sandwich and a side salad. Nothing too special, but at least it was healthier than the milkshake 🙂

For dinner I decided to pretend like we had a Memorial day cookout

IMG_1016

Smart Dog on sandwich thin, baked beans, kale, and a pickle. And some watermelon that escaped the camera.

I hadn’t had a hotdog in probably a few years and sort of picked up the Smart Dogs on a whim last grocery trip. It wasn’t bad, the consistency was perfect, but the taste wasn’t exactly what I was hoping for. I think its a fun alternative but I’d rather just have a burger.

I’m wrapping up the evening with a little more Lord of the Rings action and hopefully and early bedtime 🙂

