Tags

, , ,

First of all, I am finally officially signed up to run the 2010 Richmond Marathon!!! I am all kinds of nervous, excited, anxious, and scared haha but mostly I’m happy and excited.

Second, I had a pretty beast lunch today.

IMG_1133

I was craving Chipotle so I decided to throw together a burrito bowl/salad type thingy.

IMG_1135

Romaine, Brown rice (with cayenne, chili powder, and garlic), 1/2 cup black beans, 1/4 avocado, chicken, and tons of salsa and hot sauce. (I was starting to get really full at this point)

It was amazing but ended up being a much bigger meal than I meant for it to be. I finished about 4/5 of it and was completely stuffed, I probably could have done without the chicken.

Third, I went out for my 2nd official marathon training “long” run!

My goal is to build up my mileage slowly, no more than 10% each week. Last week I had a great 5 miler and today I tackled the big 6. I wish I had something good to say about this run, but to be honest, I don’t. The run sucked and ended up being about 40 seconds per mile slower than my goal pace.

The good thing is that I did it. The most important part of marathon training is just getting in the miles. The bad part is that runs like this tend to leave me mentally defeated.

Last weeks 5 miler was awesome, I finished faster than my goal pace and at the end I felt energized and great. Today’s 6 miler was just kind of blah up until mile 4 and then everything went downhill from there. I ended it feeling exhausted, slightly dizzy, and nauseous.

I try to remind myself that not every run is going to be my best run. Bad runs happen and its ok. But to help reduce the number of bad runs I want to make sure I do my best to prepare for hard and long runs. Today I probably was not hydrated enough before hand and probably should have eaten a lighter meal at lunch and then another light meal after my run. Plus it was super windy today and I didn’t take that into consideration when I planned my goal pace. Weather.com says the wind is going at about 12mph, is that enough to impact my pace? Ah, anyway its done and hopefully next weeks long run will be better!

I’m finally starting to get my appetite backIMG_1120

 

Do bad workouts get to you or get you down? How do you bounce back?

