Tags

, , , ,

My appetite was really off yesterday after my less than stellar 6 mile run. At first I wasn’t hungry at all, then all of a sudden I was starving, but nothing I had on hand for dinner sounded appetizing. Eggs and toast to the rescue!

IMG_1136

1 dippy egg on an Ezekiel butt. I probably would have had this twice if I didn’t run out of bread. I don’t know if it was the comb of carbs and protein or if it was just that I needed to actually eat something but my tummy felt a lot better after eating this.

I went to visit the Navyship to bring Navyguy some dinner last night and knew that I would probably get hungry again so I packed some of my go to easiest-soup-ever.

IMG_1140

1 can fire roasted tomatoes, 1 cup chicken broth (or veggie, whatever is on hand), 1 cup black beans, 1/3 cup frozen corn, whatever spices sound good.

IMG_1141

With some borrowed navy crackers

My appetite was pretty much back full force by that point and I felt it necessary to have some dessert.

IMG_1142

Apple + Skippy (yea the totally unhealthy stuff, yikes hydrogenated oil). It was amazing. When I was younger I probably had a peanut butter and jelly sandwich everyday for a couple of years. My mom would buy whatever was on sale, but JIF and Skippy were always my favorites. Usually those kind of peanut butters taste weird to me now and these days I prefer my peanut butters to contain one thing: Peanuts. But last night that apple and PB really hit the spot! I wish I knew what kind of apple that was because it was so good.

I think the best part about that run taken everything out of me was that I slept hard last night! I woke up this morning feeling really well rested and pretty great. For the first time in a long time all I was craving was a spinach smoothie, I just wanted some greens.

IMG_1143

Toast with cashew butter (needed something solid) + Green Brown Monster:

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • frozen cherries
  • large handful of spinach
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder
  • cocoa powder
  • handful of ice cubes
  • water

The plan today is an easier 4 miler and a ton of cleaning. I’m hoping yesterday was just a fluke and everything will go fine today but just in case I think I’m going to hit up the T-mill and if my legs feel crappy I’ll just do some weight training today and put the run off until tomorrow.

Hope everyone’s Monday is going well!

