Tags

, , , , ,

I think I’ve finally figured out why I don’t hate the treadmill: no hills!

Last night I headed over to the apt gym for an easy 4 mile run on the treadmill. I was worried that my legs would be really tired because this is the first time in months I’ve done back to back runs. I used the t-mill in case I wanted to cut it short and use some weights instead.

I know its best not to dwell, but I’ve been thinking a lot about why my 6 mile run on Sunday was so crappy. If there is something I can work on so that there is a smaller likelihood of having runs like that, I want to work on it. I started wondering if doing a lot of runs on the treadmill was hurting me on outdoor runs because honestly, there is nowhere in the general area to run that is flat. So last night I decided to play with the incline during my run, I definitely think I found my weak point.

I only had the incline set at 1 and I could tell a huge difference in the amount of effort it was taking me to run. After the first mile I took the incline back off and couldn’t believe how much easier it felt! So that’s why I kind of love running on the t-mill, it’s easier haha. From now on I’m going to work on incorporating incline work into my treadmill run and hopefully it will start benefitting me on outdoor runs.

In other news, since I actually did my run on Monday as planned instead of switching it to Tuesday like I have every week for the past 3 weeks I can’t stop thinking that today is Wednesday.

Quick recap of yesterday’s Eats:

stir fry

My first stir-fry in probably months. 1/2 Tbsp olive oil, broccoli, carrots, peas, mushrooms, onion, kale, and 1 egg. Topped with powdered garlic, ginger, sesame seeds and a generous helping of soy sauce. I need to make these more often!

almonds 100 calorie pack pretzels

Lots of snacks. For whatever reason I was really into snacking yesterday. I hate almonds, prunes (which are sticky and kind of ugly so I didn’t get any pics), pretzels, and a skinny cow cheese wedge with those pretzels.

squashetti

Dinner was Squashetti with tomato sauce, artichoke hearts, kalamata olives, some spinach/grain turkey meatballs, and parmesan cheese. I ate an entire spaghetti squash. In my defense, it was probably the smallest spaghetti squash I’ve ever seen, but I still ate the whole thing.

grapefruit

I also had about 1/3 of a giant grapefruit for dessert. It was SO refreshing after a very sweating 4 mile run in the gym.

So I’ve read in Runners World and some other places that to make running on a treadmill equivalent to running outside that you should always use some incline, usually 1-2%, and that makes up for the lack of wind and hills and such. I’ve always conveniently ignored that and now I’m probably paying for it.

When you run on the treadmill do you set an incline so that its more like the outdoors? if so what level do you usually set it at?

