Tags

, , , , , , , ,

IMG_1306

The good laptop made it home last night!

For the past 3 days or so I’ve been sick with a pretty nasty cold and didn’t do much of anything. I’ve always been told that when you’re sick its ok to workout as long as the cold is only in your sinuses, but not when its in your chest. Well my cold was pretty much all in my sinuses but I was feeling so crappy that most days I decided to take an extra nap instead of workout.

After 3 days I was still feeling sick but I had a lot more energy so yesterday I tried going on a quick run. I was a little tougher than usual but I got in about 2.25 miles and definitely felt better for getting out and doing something.

Navyguy just did awesome at a really important interview and to celebrate we went to one of his favorite restaurants: Chick-Fil-A. What can I say, he’s a pretty simple guy. I’m actually a big Chick-Fil-A fan because I think its one of the only fast food restaurants that’s actually easy to eat healthy at, actually its the only fast food place either of us goes to anymore.

IMG_1298

I went with the Southwestern Chicken Salad. I love this salad because its so flavorful even without dressing. The black bean and corn salsa is the best part 🙂

IMG_1299

I had a coupon for a free fruit cup so I snacked on that throughout the afternoon. Somehow the grapes and strawberries mysteriously went missing….

IMG_1302

I also snacked on some greek yogurt with blueberries and kiwi. I had a $1 off coupon for Fage Greek Yogurt and I seriously cannot believe how amazing this stuff tastes. I wish I could afford to buy greek yogurt every week. The yogurt I normally buy (Stoneyfield Low fat Plain) is a 32oz container for a little bit less than the price of the 16oz Fage. Greek yogurt please stop being so expensive!

For dinner I cooked up some chicken and veggies on the grill

IMG_1303

The chicken was marinated in southwest chipotle seasoning all day.

IMG_1305

I put summer squash, mushrooms, and some jalapenos along with salt, peper, chili powder, and some olive oil into a foil bag and let it cook on the grill. I really loved how this combo turned out. I think next time I’d use just half of the jalapeno instead of a whole one but I really enjoyed the kick it gave to the veggies.

IMG_1304

To celebrate the start of summer I made my favorite summer salad. Its really best with garden fresh tomatoes and fresh basil but I made a make shift version.

  • 2 Roma Tomatoes
  • 1/4 onion
  • 1/2 tsp EVOO
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • salt and Italian seasoning.

Its great fresh, but it tastes amazing after its been sitting in the fridge for a few hours.  This salad has been a summer staple in my family for forever. My grandmother is sort of notorious for growing way too many tomatoes so during the summer we would have this salad almost every day. Ahhhh I love summertime!!!

In other news, being away for the weekend and then getting sick I totally forgot that my mother in law planned a very last minute trip to come visit us for almost 2 weeks. I literally forgot until about 3pm yesterday when Navyguy was like “don’t forgot get to pick my Mom up from the airport tomorrow.” So of course last night was spend in a frenzy of cleaning. Does anyone else feel like their place is just never clean enough for their mother in law???

I don’t mean to imply that I don’t have an amazing mother in law. She would never be critical of our apt, its more that I just don’t feel like its ever clean enough for her 🙂

