Tags

, , , , , ,

This morning started off with a bunch of last minute cleaning. I dusted all the little nooks and crannies and hit up some often neglected spots, and I’ll  be honest, it was all just because my Mother in law (aka NavyMom) was flying into town today 🙂

I’m still feeling a little under the weather from the cold I’ve been fighting and on top of that I didn’t get much sleep last night so was feeling like I needed an extra boost this morning.

IMG_1308

Skinny Hazelnut Latte. Its been so long since I’ve been to Starbucks! I used to get lattes probably about once a week and I’m really proud at how much I’ve cut back.

A little while later I fixed up a very quick breakfast.

IMG_1307

Sausage, tomato, and egg white scramble. There is really nothing healthy at all about this sausage but its homemade and extremely delicious and I don’t want it to go to waste.

After breakfast  I was off to the airport! I was really happy to see NavyMom and spent all the afternoon hanging out with her and catching up. I figure over the next week or so we’ll be doing a lot eating out so today since we were both tired we decided to stay in, relax, and having some simple meals.

Lunch was leftovers from last night with the addition of a little avocado.

IMG_1309

 

IMG_1310

Summer Tomato Salad, so good after a night in the fridge!

IMG_1311

Cherries to snack on while Victoria’s Secret browsing 🙂

Dinner was super simple crock pot pulled chicken and baked sweet potatoes

IMG_1317

IMG_1318

I had my sweet potato with peanut butter. Its amazing.

Unwelcome Pantry Items

At some point Navyguy snuck away with his Mom to the grocery store and came back with lots of stuff that we needed plus some stuff we didn’t need so much.

IMG_1315

IMG_1316

These definitely aren’t things that I would normally buy myself or keep in the apt. I don’t believe in labeling any food as “bad” or “forbidden” but there are definitely some types of food that, for me, sort of fall into this “I don’t really care to eat that” category. Most of the time its stuff, like Oreos, that to me aren’t really special in any way, I don’t really like them all that much, and they definitely aren’t doing anything for me nutritionally, so why eat it?

Normally this works out just fine for me, but for some reason tonight was different. I’m not really sure if it was a social thing or a “I’m tired and cranky and craving sugar thing” but before I knew it I’d already had 4 Oreos! I was like, wait a minute, I don’t even really like these things very much, what is going on here.

This is sort of touchy subject because I don’t want to get into a diet mentality or start throwing around rules about eating or not eating certain foods, but especially since I am still in process of trying to lose a few lbs I really need to pay attention to things like this. In a matter of minutes I  added on about 280 empty calories eating something I wasn’t really even enjoying all that much.

I feel like I tend to do things like this a lot in social settings, I just sort of zone out and start munching on whatever is around just because its what everyone else is doing. Does that any make sense? Mindless snacking has always been something I’ve had to work on, but I don’t tend to think about when I’m around other people who are snacking on the same things. Its almost like I feel my snacking is validated because other people are doing it too. So I’m not going to say that I shouldn’t eat anymore Oreos, but I do think I should be more aware of why I want to eat them.

I would really love to hear what everyone thinks about social snacking. Do you feel like you snack more in social settings?

