The past couple of days have been totally nonstop. With NavyMom in town there has been lots of visiting, sightseeing, eating, walking, shopping, and more eating. I’m finally over my cold (!!) and want to start getting back into a more normal routine. I have to admit, its been almost a week since I’ve had a formal workout and I’ve definitely been indulging a little bit more than normal.

While I was sick I was using my morning potential gym time to get in some extra sleep, and the only time I had in the evening I was using either sleeping even more or waiting for my turn at the computer. We’ve been so busy all day long that at the end of the day the 3 of us sort of end up competing for time on the internet. So I’m sorry for the lack of posts and comments, but now that I’m not trying to sleep during all my morning free time things will be a lot better. 

There have been a lot of times when we’ve had guests visiting or we’ve been guests visiting that I’ve sort of let my whole workout and eating routine go out the window. Recently I’ve been working hard to keep that from happening.

For me, the best strategy has been to figure out when the down time of the group is, that way I don’t feel like I’m missing out or being a burden by changing the schedule. I’m not normally a morning gym kind of person but I’ve been noticing that the evening sort of down time is when NavyMom wants to do family stuff, whereas the morning down time we all kind of just do our own thing for a little while. Tonight I plan on going to bed early so that I can get up a little earlier and hopefully get in a quick workout during that downtime.

I think the other important thing is to be more flexible when the actual workouts. I’m one of those people who tend to fall into the all or nothing mentality. I get frustrated when I don’t have enough time for the workout I planned and get tempted to skip the gym altogether. Especially on vacation or with guests its important to remember that something is better than nothing. I may not have the time to get in a 5 mile run, but a 2 mile run is still burning calories and helping me maintain my fitness.

Sorry for such a boring post after being MIA, hopefully I will be back into a better routine.

If you want something fun to check out, read  this really awesome post by Lisa about what Healthy is. Definitely something good to think about!

