Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday was sort of every ones day off. We didn’t really go anywhere or do much, it was so nice to just have the day to wind down a little bit and catch up on things.

I started off the day with a new breakfast combo, waffles, avocado, and egg. It was so freaking good! But it turned out really unattractive looking and I never ended up taking a picture. I will definitely be eating that again sometime soon though.

Lunch was leftovers

IMG_1385

Sammy’s Tai Chicken Pizza. Yes, there are peanuts on the pizza, so good.

IMG_1384

Plus some super sweet watermelon on the side. This picture is actually really deceiving because I ended up eating 3/4 of the whole watermelon yesterday. It was one of those little baby watermelons, but I still ate a whole lot of it.

For dinner NavyMom and Navyguy went out to PF Changs for some mother son time while I got to enjoy some glorious alone time. I love, love, love, having guests over, but its been a week now and I just needed a little time to myself, ya know?

I started by finishing off the last of our bottle of Rose from Orfila

IMG_1386 

This seriously hit the spot.

IMG_1387

I also had quite a bit more watermelon while cooking dinner. There were quite a few undocumented bites and snacks that happened throughout the day including one way-to-large-for-its-own-good cinnamon bun from Ikea, a nibble of a hotdog, a handful or so of chocolate chex mix. It was just sort of one of those days where I had the urge to snack all day long, it happens. But anyways, for dinner I was really just craving veggies

.IMG_1388

I started out with Ezekiel Toast.

IMG_1389

Then topped that with summer squash and tomatoes that had been “grilled” in a frying pan. I topped the tomatoes with a very light drizzle of EVOO, a heavy handed shake of Italian seasoning, and some mozzarella cheese.

IMG_1390

The end product. Delicious. This is actually even more phenomenal with some roasted or grilled asparagus but I was starving and totally forgot. Its also really really good with eggplant instead of squash (or with it) and spinach.

It held me over pretty well but I did end up having a taste of the PF Chang leftovers plus a small hunk of baguette with some cheese. It was a snacky day.

On the Bright Side: I hit up the track yesterday afternoon and actually ran! Since I got sick over a week and half ago I had only been on one 2 mile run. I’m not gonna lie, it was tough! For whatever reason I was having a really hard time finding my groove and felt like my stride was off and awkward the whole time.

Since I was having a tough time I used a few mental tricks to help things go by more quickly. These may not work for anyone else, and maybe I’m crazy, but here are my favorite tricks:

  • when on the track and running with the garmin I run in the outside 2 lanes and hide the mileage display from myself. That way I  count laps for distance but since I’m on the outside lap there is a little extra mileage added each lap that I’m not counting. So basically by the last couple of laps I get excited that I get to finish “early” instead of having to make it around to where I started, or sometimes if I’m running far enough I get to end a whole lap early. Its definitely delusional, but it works for me 🙂
  • Sometimes when I’m running with music I start to count how many songs have played as a way to keep track of time, which can start to get me down. When that happens I like to find a really good song and repeat it like 3 or 4 times. For some reason that really helps me stop thinking about how much time has passed or how much time I have left. Yesterday I listed to “Don’t Rain on My Parade” and “Telephone” 3 or 4 times each, plus a couple of other doubles.

In the end I finished up 3.25 miles and was just happy that I was able to be out there and do it. I have less than a month before official marathon training starts, yikes!!!

What are your tricks for getting through a tough workout?

