Tags

, , , , ,

The last couple of days NavyMom was here were totally jam packed. We all sort of took a step back from the computer and phones and focused on having fun and just spending quality time together.

After she left I realized I was sort of enjoying it that way and decided to go another couple of days pretty much totally unplugged.  For the first time in a long time I had the day totally to myself so I went entire day without turning on the computer and left my phone on silent. I had been feeling pretty burnt out and I can’t explain how awesome it felt to truly relax and not worry about anything. Now I’m back! for good this time, I promise.

________________________________________________________________

Recently I’ve been waking up extremely parched in the mornings. Maybe the air has been drier lately? I don’t know, whatever it is has got me craving nothing but smoothies and yogurt for breakfast. Today I went with a big yogurt bowl.

IMG_1447

1 cup 2% plain yogurt, 1/3 cup oats, some chia, and lots o strawberries. The strawberries are so freaking good right now.

IMG_1448

All mixed up. I need to remember to have yogurt in deeper bowls, I always make a mess stirring it all up.

I have to admit that after going out to eat and eating on the run for almost 2 weeks while NavyMom was here sort of left me in a cooking rut. When I walk into the kitchen I immediately start thinking, do I really want to pull out the pots and pans? maybe I’ll just grab a quick pb&j or some tortilla chips. The problem is that I’d end up eating mostly snacks and junkie stuff and it started to take a toll on my energy and was making my tummy upset.

Finally, today I was actually feeling sort of creative and had the urge to eat something other than a pb&j. I stared at the pantry/fridge/freezer for a little while and then about 15minutes later I had this:

IMG_1450

  • 1 serving Barilla plus penne
  • 1 cup frozen broccoli ( heated in frying pan)
  • 1/4 cup frozen corn (also in the pan)
  • 1/2 pinto beans
  • seasoning: s&p, garlic powder, chili powder, 1 tsp EVOO

The broccoli, corn, bean mix was delicious! Sadly the pasta ended up making it a little bland, but overall it was a great lunch and I’m feeling so much better than I have over the past couple of days.

Now I’m munching on a mug full cherries and contemplating when I’m going to run today, because for the first time all week I actually have the urge to go run and it feels so good.

IMG_1451

Random curious question: Do you wake up super thirsty/dehydrated in the morning? I always do and it really puts a downer on morning exercise. I drink 60-90 ounces of water a day and I’ve tried drinking more water in the evenings but I prefer to be able to sleep through the night 🙂

