Tags

, , , ,

I was totally planning on posting this last night but basically passed the heck out instead. I think I had the best nights sleep of the entire week. So good. In the end I think that it postponing the post was a good thing because it sort of made me change this whole post…

A Runner’s Best Friends

1. Sleep

Ok, so I may not be a hardcore runner or anything, but seriously I cannot get enough sleep. I’ve definitely noticed that the night after a long or hard run usually leads to a long and hard sleep. Good sleep usually leads to a good workout the next day. Such a wonderful cycle. (ps. I’m currently on a good sleep high, so ignore my lameness haha)

When sleep might no be a runner’s best friend: you know all those times that sleep decides that it is way more important than running and keeps you in bed and out of your sneakers.

2. Technology

GPS watches, ipods, heart rate monitors… Its really nice to be able to know exactly what’s going on during your run while its actually happening. There are lots of days where I feel like I work harder because these things help show me what I am capable of or let me know when I’m slacking

IMG_1517

Non best friend move: When they start getting you to believe that they are more important than the actual run itself. Sleep can get away with this one every once in awhile, but technology has no excuse.

I’ve been doing my best lately to accept that my fitness level right now is not what it used to be. I’m working hard not to compare myself right now to myself in January or March but sometimes having all that info right in front of me makes it hard.

Yesterday I had a 4 mile hill run planned and I knew that I would most likely not be able to keep my “usual” pace on the route. I decided that instead of beating myself up the whole time I would just leave my Garmin at home, run the 4 mile route in whatever time it took me, and call it a day. The run was tough, I worked hard, and did my best. I’m really glad that I don’t know what my pace is so that it can’t take away from those facts.

3. Sunscreen

This months Runner’s World mentioned that marathon runners have higher instances of skin cancer, yikes. I always put sunscreen on if I’m headed to the beach, the pool, or just spending the day in a sunny area, but I have to admit that I tend to forget about it when running outside.

IMG_1518

I’m making a much bigger effort now to remember, obviously its important to protect our skin, but I’m also looking forward to avoiding the not-so-sweet tan lines I’ve started to acquire haha.

Backstabbing move: when then sweat causes sunscreen to drip into your eyes. I think this is the worst when running because there isn’t anything you can do. The sunscreen in the pic up there is actually really good at not doing that.

I also think wearing a visor helps a lot, they keep the sun our of your eyes and the sweat from dripping down your forehead. Plus, they look super cool, right?

IMG_1474

Even cooler when the visor is worn with a fleece ear warmer head band… (just in case you’re curious, this is my “I’m going to kick this half marathon’s butt” face)

4. Good Food

Pre-Run

IMG_1508

Dates: ugly but oh so delicious

Post-Run

IMG_1511

1 frozen banana, 1 cup almond breeze, 1 scoop vanilla whey, spinach, lots and lots and lots of ice (it was soooo hot out). Love.

Dinner

IMG_1513

Starer: Simple tomato + imitation crab salad drizzled in balsamic vinegar and a light sprinkle of sea salt. If you like imitation crab, seriously try it with balsamic vinegar.

IMG_1515

Main Attraction: Yellow Squash and egg scramble with roasted red potatoes in a whole wheat wrap. Plus another whole roasted potato on the side covered in Old Bay. Old Bay is not just for seafood 🙂

When its not friendly: I promise this is the last time I’ll talk about this for awhile, but gassy foods. Yikes. I know it doesn’t bother some people, but I need to avoid the typically gassy or super high fiber foods before runner. Aka: beans, high fiber whole wheat breads and tortilla, cabbage, sweet potatoes, any fiber one product…. haha

 

What are your favorite running or workout friends? oh I forgot good shoes. Asics are my favorite!

