Tags

, , , , , ,

 

Last night I somehow ended up falling asleep right after dinner, I really must have been tired! Backtracking to yesterday’s eats… lunch was Stir Fried Noodles with Peanut Sauce.

IMG_1880

Peanut Sauce: 1 Tbsp peanut butter, ginger powder, garlic poweder, red pepper flakes, and 2 tbsp soy sauce all whisked together (sometimes I add a little water to get a thinner sauce)

IMG_1881

Stir Fry: In 1/2 Tbsp olive oil – 1/2 cup frozen broccoli, 1/2 cup frozen carrots, 1/2 cup frozen green beans. Added in the last 5 minutes of cooking 1/4 cup frozen corn, 1/4 cup frozen peas, 1 serving whole wheat pasta.

Peanut butter makes everything so tasty! The one downside was that my eyes were totally bigger than my stomach. When I started cooking I intended to make 2 servings worth but by the end I was so hungry I just dumped the whole thing into 1 bowl and couldn’t finish it all.

After lunch I busted out my first tempo run for marathon training! I’m starting out slightly behind but I’m not letting that hold me back or get me down. If its one thing I know its that beating yourself up about being behind or missing a run will only slow you down even more. I actually ended up running the 3 miles at my fastest pace since about May! Recently my doctor suggested that I might be anemic so I’ve been working on eating more red meat recently, I can’t say for sure that there is a connection yet but I’m looking forward to seeing how things go from here.

Post-Run / Pre-Spin Snack

IMG_1882

Small corn tortilla, cottage cheese, dates, and honey. Definitely would have been better with a flour tortilla.

Navyguy wanted to hit up spin class last night and I decided to go with him because I was still had energy and figured I could always slow down or leave early if I needed too. I ended up staying the whole class and honestly after taking so much time off with my friends in town it felt really awesome to get in a double work out and sweat my rear end off. That’s probably also why I fell asleep at like 8pm last night haha but it still felt great :).

I couldn’t for the life of me decide what I want for dinner. I figured the eggplant was the oldest in the fridge so I should definitely use some of that and I kind of had a hankering for a sandwich. This is what I ended up with:

IMG_1884

A sort of eggplant/asparagus parmesan.

IMG_1883

2 slices of Ezekiel bread toasted, grilled eggplant and asparagus, lots of tomato sauce, garlic powder, Italian seasoning, and some parmesan cheese. On the side, lovely corn on the cob with salt and pepper. So delicious!

Random Question: What’s your favorite thing to put nut butter on? I love peanut or almond butter on sweet potatoes!

