Tags

, ,

This morning I woke up with a random craving for sweet potatoes. Well actually what I really wanted was something pumpkin pie flavored but I won’t be able to find canned pumpkin until November so I settled on sweet potato.

IMG_1885

IMG_1886

 

I cooked 1 sweet potato (or yam actually) in the micro for 5 minutes, mashed it up with some honey, a pinch of nutmeg, and a ton of cinnamon. Then mixed it up with 3/4 cup plain low fat yogurt and 1/4 cup of dry oats. It was no pumpkin pie yogurt, but it was tasty and, hey, I can’t complain about getting in a serving of veggies at breakfast.

Lunch didn’t go quite as smoothly, it was good, but the pita just wouldn’t quite cooperate.

IMG_1887

 

IMG_1888

Grilled Turkey and Cheese Pita with asparagus. Even if its not a looker, the flavor was great. I had forgotten how much I love asparagus on sandwiches!

IMG_1889

On the side I had some good old canned beans with a little added spiciness (cayenne, cumin, and mrs. dash southwest seasoning). Ohhhh veggies :).

Now I’m off to find a snack…

Tonight’s plans include a treadmill run and cooking steak for the first time ever by myself!!! Any tips?

