Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday I had the best idea for dinner, I prepped everything, threw it all in the crock pot and went back to doing work excited and even a little smug (I was really proud of my idea). Well about 2 hours later I got to check and make sure its doing what I hope it will and realize that I turned on the crock pot, but never plugged it in. Fail.

Navyguy distracted me with a coupon for a pizza place we’d never tried before and I did not argue.

IMG_1952

I’ve heard really good things about Pizza Fusion before and was happy to try pizza outside of our beloved Sammy’s.

IMG_1953

The place was cute, very friendly, and they offered free parking (a miracle downtown). My only complaint was that it was honestly a little dirty. I had to wipe a ton of crumbs off my seat and at some point I leaned on something (the window silly maybe) and came back with black junk/dust/dirt on my hand. Maybe it was just the window area that was dirty, but it is a pizza place so I was planning on eating with my hands..

We ordered the dip trio to start off with because we were starrrrving.

IMG_1954

Flatbread, marinara, olive olive/balsamic vinegar, and olive tapenade. Between the two of us (maybe a little more me) we demolished that flat bread. I can’t be sure but I’m speculating that there was crack in the balsamic vinegar. Just speculating. I have never tasted vinegar so good and I’m kicking myself for not asking what brand  it was!

We both decided to create our own pizzas

IMG_1955

Mine had mozzarella, provolone, and parmesan cheese (the standard), on multigrain crust, and was topped with artichoke hearts, crimini mushrooms, and arugula.

IMG_1956

I also ended up sprinkling the rest of the olive tapenade on top :). It was so good! I’m really loving pizza with uncooked greens on top, it really gives it a fresh taste and feel. I felt like I was eating a fancy flatbread rather than a typical greasy pizza.

Overall I really liked Pizza Fusion, but if I ever went again I would probably try to go to another location hoping that it was cleaner.

I had a doc appointment today and woke up a tad late so breakfast was super quick.

IMG_1957

I tried some new-to-me yogurt that I had a coupon for. I usually go for 2% plain yogurt, but I could not pass up discounted greek yogurt. mmmmmm greek yogurt.

IMG_1958

I added it to the usual berries and oats combo. Honestly once everything was mixed up I couldn’t tell the difference between plain and vanilla, and since greek yogurt is amazing I didn’t miss the fat either. My only real worry was that I’d get hungry way earlier since fat usually helps me stay fuller longer, but that didn’t end up being a problem at all, score!

The actual doc appointment was on time, quick, and painless. When it comes to Navy doctors, I’ve had some great ones and some ones I want to sock in the face, but I have to admit at least things are quick and on time. I really appreciate that since prior to the Navy I thought waiting and hour or more past your appointment time was standard. Unfortunately a 2 hour wait is pretty standard at the pharmacy, which I completely forgot about so I was unprepared when I came home for lunch suuuper hungry.

Unprepared meaning I totally forgot I had delicious leftover pizza and instead threw together this random assortment…

IMG_1959

Leftover brown rice, kidney beans, avocado, tomato, shredded chicken, and sesame seeds. It wasn’t bad at all, and I’m glad I didn’t let the rice go to waste, but I kicked myself a little bit when I realized I forgot about that yummy pizza.

Snack has been the same yesterday and today. I was in the market for a new granola bar and made an impulse buy at the grocery store yesterday: Kashi Pumpkin Pecan Fruit and Grain bar.

IMG_1960IMG_1961

They are way smaller than I was expecting and the flavor is a little too sweet and a little too meh. They did absolutely nothing for my hunger so I started eating 2 at a time which basically makes it comparable to eating a cliff bar.

I’m off to finish up the dinner that we should have had last night, yea I figured out how to actually plug the crock pot in 🙂

