Tags

, , , , ,

Last night I got around to actually plugging in that crock pot and cooked up the dinner I was so excited for. Navyguy isn’t exactly the number one veggie fan (he has come a LONG way since we’ve been married though, I have to give him some credit) so every once in awhile I try to think of some sneaky ways to get different veggies into meals.

We had a TON of frozen chicken breasts in the freezer so I decided to try out some chicken enchiladas a la hidden veggies. I started off with about 2lbs of chicken in the crock pot and then added carrots and summer squash….

IMG_1947

In shredded form!

IMG_1948IMG_1950

Everything cooked together in the crock pot for about 6 hours. After the chicken was cooked I shredded it up and the squash literally disappeared. It was still pretty obvious that the carrot was in there still but it passed the Navyguy taste test.

I cover the chicken in enchilada sauce, rolled it up in tortillas, covered in more sauce, topped with a little cheddar cheese and a little goat cheese, and popped it in the oven for 30 minutes.

IMG_1964

Once it was all sauce covered and cooked I couldn’t tell that there were veggies in them at all. This was a Navyguy approved veggie filled meal (minus the green beans and mushrooms, those were mine haha).

Before dinner last night I got in a tough 5 mile run. I ended up finishing at almost tempo pace, which was kind of awesome, but I woke up kind of sore this morning and decided to skip today’s 3 miler. I also woke up with very little appetite.

IMG_1970

Breakfast: 1/2 cup cottage cheese, strawberries, blueberries, and sunflower seed butter. I’m almost ready to admit that I might like sun butter better than peanut butter, almost.

Luckily my appetite came back for lunch, but along with it came a mad craving for french fries. Sadly Luckily there is an awesome Mediterranean style place with killer fries just a block away from our apt.

Luna Grill

IMG_1974 

I’m normally not a huge fry person so even though I’ve been to Luna Grill a few times I had never even considered trying their “French Fry Crumble.”

IMG_1978

But today was the day.

IMG_1976

I’m not sure I could possibly describe how good this was if I tried.

 IMG_1977

I think the lemon was key, it was sort of similar to vinegar on fries but even better.

For my meal I went with the Mahi Mahi wrap on whole wheat lavash and a side salad.

IMG_1979

IMG_1980

I finished off the salad and 1/2 the wrap. Weird, but I enjoyed a few bites of fry and salad combined and it was a surprisingly tasty combo.

IMG_1981

Seriously, something about the lemon….

IMG_1975

I also had a few sips of Navyguy’s Izze drink. It was pretty sweet but I liked the flavor and the fact that it has real fruit juice, not just sugar, water, and carbonation.

Today was a lay low kind of day. I skipped out on my run because my legs are really tired and stiff . In my opinion the long run is the most important part of marathon training and I’m hoping that by taking today off I’ll feel better for my long run tomorrow morning

I really like running in the evenings (between 4-8pm is my favorite), but I also really like coming up with excuses, getting dinner in the way, and putting off my run until its just too late. I know in my heart it makes so much more sense to run first thing in the AM, and with runs getting over 2 hours long, I really need more time. So starting with tomorrow I’m going to start trying to run at least all my long runs in the morning. If nothing else I need to get used to it because the race itself starts in the morning. Hopefully tomorrow morning I’ll be back with a successful morning long run report… I better got set up my coffee pot.

What’s your favorite time of day to workout? Any tips on becoming a morning exerciser? I hear it just takes time and that eventually you do get used to it

