Tags

, , ,

Operation Eat Down Freezer had kind of been on the back burner lately. Today I was fully prepared to ignore anything in the freezer, for lunch all I really wanted was a wrap and some sweet potato. Instead of just giving in I challenged myself to come up with something that would satisfy my sweet potato craving and use up some freezer food.

I started off by dicing up a sweet potato (into pretty small chunks so it would cook faster) and throwing them into a hot pan with a little bit of olive oil and a little bit of oregano. The taters cooked on medium heat for about 10 minutes until they were slightly browned and soft. PS. This made the kitchen smell heavenly!

IMG_2153

Next I threw in a large handful or so of frozen green beans. If I hadn’t been set on getting a pasta sauce out of this I would have stopped at this point just because it looked so pretty. Topped with a little bit of lemon I’m it would have made a great side dish.

IMG_2156 After the beans had a chance to warm up I dumped in a can of fire roasted tomatoes and a large handful of sliced mushrooms.

IMG_2157

It all simmered on low heat for about 10 minutes while the frozen ravioli cooked up in a pot next door.

The Final Product:

IMG_2160

Butternut squash ravioli, sweet potato marinara, all topped with feta cheese.

IMG_2162

I’ve complained before about how the butternut squash ravioli is bland, but the favors in this sauce were perfect with the light flavors of the ravioli.

Sweet Potato Marinara

Ingredients:

  • 1 small sweet potato, diced
  • 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
  • oregano
  • frozen green beans
  • 1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes
  • sliced mushrooms

Directions:

  • dice sweet potato into small chunks
  • sauté on medium heat in olive oil and oregano for about 10 minutes or until soft and lightly browned
  • add green beans and warm through
  • add can of tomatoes and mushrooms and simmer for 10- 15 minutes
  • add to your favorite pasta 🙂 Makes approx. 2 servings.
