Tags

,

this morning I woke up completely frazzled/stressed/out of it/homesick, you name it. I’ve never felt so much like I had just gotten up on the wrong side of the bed. I thought for a second about just going back to sleep and trying again, but instead I grabbed some sneakers and stepped out the door. I only went for a quick 10-15 minute walk, but it seriously made all the difference. I took the time to enjoy the morning air, enjoy the warmth of the sun, and to just get my head on straight.

I still wouldn’t say that this is on my list of top 10 best mornings ever (just kidding, I don’t really have a list for that), but I do feel a lot better. Lisa wrote a really great post recently about taking pleasure in everyday things. I’ve been kind of overwhelmed lately and haven’t taken the time to remember all the awesome little things there are to be grateful for. My short walk this morning helped me focus on those things and it really did feel good.

I also got some sweet inspiration for breakfast (pre-walk I couldn’t really think of anything past putting some fruit on top of yogurt).

IMG_2149

Grilled pineapple and sausage sandwich.

IMG_2146

It would have been even better with a slice of ham or Canadian bacon instead of sausage, but sausage is what I had on hand. I think it might be even better with pineapple, ham, and an egg… mmmm. I can’t wait to get this move over with so I can start buying groceries again!

Our last week in San Diego is going to be super busy so the goal is to get all the (or most of) packing, planning, and prepping done this week. I better get back to work!

