Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday was a little bit backwards. I slept in a little later than I wanted to and woke craving lunch.

 IMG_2224

I’m super low on good “breakfast” foods anyway so it was even easier to go with my craving. Besides, who says there’s any such thing as a “breakfast” food anyway.

I ended up with a tuna salad wrap with Clementine’s on the side

 IMG_2225

For the Tuna Salad I combined one small can of tuna, 2 tbsp hummus, and a few generous squirts of horseradish mustard. Inside the wrap I added some sautéed green bell peppers and a 1/4 of an avocado. The tuna was tasty with the hummus and mustard, but the avocado really took it to the next level. I think next time I’d try mashing the avocado right into the tuna mix.

For lunch I hit up the nearby Vons grocery store to cash in a free sandwich coupon (and sadly forgot the camera at home). Vons has by far the best sandwiches I’ve ever had from a non-restaurant. Actually, they kind of rival some restaurants sandwiches. Sadly there won’t be any Vons on the East Coast… I wonder if Safeway offers the same sandwiches?

My sandwich was huge! I had the Chicago South Sider – roast beef, all the veggies, and horseradish sauce- with some baby carrots and wasn’t hungry again until well after my normal dinner time.

When dinner rolled around I wasn’t feeling inspired by anything in the kitchen and I still had to squeeze in time to go to the gym, so I had breakfast for dinner.

IMG_2226

 

Before last night I had actually never eaten cereal for dinner. I’m all about pancakes, waffles, eggs, and any other kind of breakfast food for dinner, but for whatever reason eating cereal for dinner jus never appealed to me. To be fair, eating cereal for breakfast never really appeals to me, I prefer cereal as a snack I guess.

IMG_2227

 

I had a super quick bowl of multigrain cheerios, Fiber One, and slivered almonds (that I randomly found in the back of the pantry haha) covered in Almond Breeze. I guess its no surprise that almonds taste great with almond milk? 🙂

After dinner I zipped over to the apt gym for a quick 3 mile speed work run and some upper body weights. The run was 1/4 mile intervals, alternating between hard and recovery. I actually finished with my fastest time in a really, really long time. It was really awesome to see some benefits from all the training (and probably some benefit from taking some time off).

I honestly didn’t think I’d be saying this so soon, but I think I’ve already been converted to a morning exerciser. I don’t hate working out in the evenings, but I just don’t look forward to it they same way as a good morning workout. I feel like I don’t get the same sense of accomplishment, in the morning I really feel like I’m doing something, but in the evening I feel more like I’m just squeezing it in or like its more out of obligation. Maybe I’m going through a honeymoon phase with morning workouts :).

What’s you favorite time of day to workout? Have you recently made a switch from one or the other?

