Tags

, ,

What?? Its already Friday?? I can’t believe I’m leaving San Diego in just 4 days! I could have sworn just yesterday I still had over 2 weeks left.

I’m sort of tempted to throw in a “sorry for being a bad blogger” statement but I’m not really sorry. Packing up your life and moving across the country is no joke and I’ve actually been pretty emotional lately. I’m really excited about moving to a new place and being closer to family, but at the same time its hard to let go of a place you consider home and the friends that have become your family.

I’ve got a lot I want to talk about, but my head is even more unorganized than all the haphazard packing/organizing going on over here. The good thing is that this obviously won’t last forever and I’m sure soon enough I’ll be back to normal with lots of fun  stuff to talk about :).

Some fun eats that have been happening:

IMG_2230

Now I know this looks like a big pile of mush, but it actually tasted amazing.

I had almost empty bags of frozen blueberries, peaches, strawberries, and cherries I needed to use up. I put them all in a pot with a little bit of water and let it simmer for 15-20 minutes until I had this delicious syrup/mush.

IMG_2229

It all got poured on top of 2 waffles and about 1/2 a cup of cottage cheese. All together it seriously tasted like eating pie for breakfast.

I have an almost full jar of tahini that I will be very sad to see go to waste so I’ve been trying to come up with as many ways as possible to use it before leaving. Tahini has a very strong flavor and most of the things I’ve tried have sort of been flops except one:

IMG_2242

I like to call it Salsini. Its about 1/2 cup salsa with about 1 tbsp of tahini mixed in. 

IMG_2246

I honestly didn’t think it was going to work when I first got the idea, but I happily surprised when it actually tasted really good. The tahini gave the salsa a really great creamy flavor and texture. I tried it with carrots, but it tasted even better with sliced bell peppers. I think this is something I’ll try packing to snack on during the car ride.

 

And just for fun, moose shaped pasta from Ikea!

IMG_2253

“Many Much Moosen!” Anyone else like Brian Reagan? I think he single handedly got me and my roommate through the stressful times during freshman and sophomore year. Well him and 2 am trips to Wal-Mart but that’s whole other story.

Plus I finally went out and got a hair cut.

IMG_2254

I was going through a big hair rut and almost went back for the short bob, but I decided to give the long hair one more chance and basically just got a trim.

I’m off to look at more places in Charleston, we still don’t have a place to live, eek.

