Tags

, ,

I’ve always thought that the hardest part of writing is the very beginning. In school I would sit in front of a blank document for hours just trying to come up with those first couple of sentences. I knew what I wanted to say and pretty much already had the middle and end down in my head, but those darn first couple of lines always held me up. Its usually the same for blogging, sometimes I actually just go ahead and write whatever I want and then go back and write something for the beginning. Is that just me? ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m currently in the the good state of Maryland visiting the in-laws and will be heading out to visit my parents pretty soon. Both Navyguy and I actually get along really well with each others parents. It’s funny, but I honestly think one of the biggest hang ups between each of us and each others parents is the way we eat. When we first started dating I think each of us slightly dreaded eating with each others families.

It took awhile but I’m finally getting to a point where I don’t feel guilty for eating something different or making small changes to whatever is being served. This morning breakfast was cinnamon buns.

IMG_2777.JPG

Waking up to the smell of cinnamon buns in the oven is heavenly! I love the smell of cinnamon, I love putting ground cinnamon in just about anything, but I’ve just never really liked cinnamon buns, so I started rummaging for something else. I still always ask before I start making something else, but I think its just more out of habit than anything else. No one has ever been upset when I’ve wanted to eat something different.

I was really intrigued by this new kind of bread

IMG_2773.jpg

I have always loved potato bread (and personally think Martin’s is the best!). As a kid potato bread was more of a treat than anything. It was more expensive than regular old white bread and since it had a few more grams of fat my Mom always considered it “bad” or “worse for you” than other breads. I knew the whole wheat variety wouldn’t taste exactly the same, but I was still excited to try it.

IMG_2774.JPG

While we were on the road I had quite a few peanut butter and banana sandwiches. They’re easy to make in the car, and super tasty, so I had that idea on my mind but decided to switch it up a little bit with some apple.

IMG_2775.JPG  

The sandwich was exactly what I was looking for. I loved the contrast of the warm peanut butter and toast with the cool crisp apple. Navyguy thinks I’m crazy for eating warm and cool things together but I really like it. The bread itself definitely tasted different but it still had the super soft and light texture that I love.

IMG_2778.JPG

I spent most of the hanging out with family and taking care of things at the MVA (we’re really lucky, its actually pretty fast here). Tonight we might get to go spend the night at the beach we were married at! Hopefully I’ll be back in the morning with some fun pictures ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you like to mix warm and cold foods?

