Tags

, , ,

After an exciting week of traveling, dealing with the tough loss of a very dear pet, a fun house hunting experience, and a great week in MD visiting family, we finally moved into our place in Charleston! Ok so I actually moved in a few days ago, but the internet didn’t move in until today. I feel like I’ve been out of touch with this blog for so long I don’t even know where to start. I think it might take a couple of posts to get back into the groove, but hopefully they won’t be too awful until then πŸ™‚

After eating on the road for so long all I wanted to see for breakfast was yogurt and eggs! I was so sick of eating cereal and oatmeal.

IMG_2886.JPG

I think the most surprising thing about our neighborhood is how many grocery stores there are. There are at least 4 all less than a mile away and I had never been to any of them so of course I wanted to try them all! The first one we tried out was BI-LO, it seemed to have a good selection, good prices and its in walking distance of our place.

BI-LO had Dannon Brand Greek Yogurt for a really decent price so I decided to try out the strawberry flavor (I’m usually pretty partial to plain). It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t my favorite either. I think I’d like flavored yogurt better if it wasn’t fat free. I tend to like my yogurt with a little fat in it πŸ™‚

Apparently both Navyguy and I are preoccupied with breakfast because we realized later on that we managed to go to the grocery store to get everything we wanted for breakfasts but nothing for dinner. It ended up working out though because its kind of a tradition for us to order pizza our first night in a new place. Doesn’t everyone eat pizza on move in day?

IMG_2894.JPG

I would have loved to try a new local pizza place, but we were both starving and Pizza Hut is right down the street next to another grocery store (within walking distance too). Navyguy ran in a got a pizza (half plain, half mushroom), while I ran into Publix and grabbed a pre made greek side salad and a small bowl of cut fruit. I usually avoid pizza just because it’s never filling, I eat 2 pieces and then want 2 more 30 minutes later. Adding the fruit and salad to the mix really seemed to help a lot, I ended up eating 2 slices of pie and was totally satisfied.

The pizza was good, but once all our stuff arrived I was beyond excited to break out the pots and pans and actually cook a real meal. Navyguy and I went to our third grocery store in two days… do we have a problem??

IMG_2924.JPG

Navyguy picked out this Teriyaki marinade, I have to admit I was a little skeptical, I haven’t tried anything thats really gotten that teriyaki flavor you get from restaurants.

I threw some chicken breast, a few splashes of marinade, and a bit of water into a container and let it sit in the fridge pretty much all day.

IMG_2914.JPG

The chicken went onto a hot cast iron pan, and then I poured the marinade over top and let it all simmer until the chicken was cooked through.

IMG_2915.JPG

For the sides I made some plain brown rice, topped with sauce from the the chicken, and steamed broccoli and yellow squash topped with lemon juice and pepper. It was a great “first” dinner. I ended up being very impressed by the marinade, it really tastes just like take out teriyaki. I can’t say whether it’s super healthy or not, but at least I know the chicken and veggies weren’t cooked in tons of oil.

What’s your favorite take out meal to make at home?

