Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Monday!

I’m not exactly sure why I’m so excited about today but I just have a feeling its going to be a good week. I spent most of the weekend emptying out the last (well almost :)) of the moving boxes and completely reorganizing the living room dining room a couple of times. I think we’re finally happy with things and I can’t wait to start getting pictures up on the walls and get the last of these boxes out of here!

Yesterday I set out to do a 15 mile training run and get back on the training plan for the marathon. I’ve had a really hard time adjusting to the heat and humidity here in SC so I opted to use the treadmill instead of runnning outside. Luckily one of the nearby military gyms has an individual tv on every piece of cardio equipment, it really makes all the difference between totally losing my mind on the treadmill and being able to stay on it for over 2 hours.

I tried to stay really positive and open minded about the run. Its been quite awhile since my last 12 miler and I wanted to be realistic with myself, but at the same time I wanted to push myself to do my best and possibly just jump right back in there if I could. I ended up making it a little over 10 miles and knew it was time to stop for the day. It was a good hard run and I’m trying my best not to devalue it just because I didn’t reach the goal mileage. I’m going to focus on getting in some good quality runs and a nice mid-distance run this week and then try my best at 15 again next weekend. Luckily even after missing almost 4 weeks I still have plenty of time to fit in 15, 17, 19, and 20 mile runs before starting to taper.

On to Today! I had a hard time sleeping last night and woke up this morning starving while it was still dark outside. Normally I’d just ignore it and try and go back to sleep but that wasn’t happening and thought of eggs had taken over.

IMG_2961.JPG  

I had a sandwich thin and 2 eggs topped off with some fried deli ham. I love bacon but most days of the week I would pick a nice warm and slightly crisp slice of ham over bacon in a heart beat, I think I like the heartier texture.

IMG_2962.JPG

I intended to throw some fruit in with breakfast but I was so hungry that I ended up picking at bread and ham while I was cooking and spoiled my appetite. I’m not sure if the hunger was from the shock of running a long distance after such a long break or if I just didn’t refuel properly afterwards, but it was intense for sure.

Luckily by the time  lunch rolled around my hunger felt like it was back to a normal level.

IMG_2967.JPG

Turkey, tomato, and lettuce sandwich on rustic whole grain bread with mustard and tahini and a juicy peach on the side.

IMG_2964.JPG

I felt a little pressure to add some veggie action to my plate but I just wasn’t craving veggies at all. What I was craving was a cookie!

IMG_2969.JPG

I knew if I ignored my craving and simply had broccoli or salad just because I felt like I should I’d probably end up turning around and just eating the cookie anyway so I just went for it. I grabbed these Fig Newton knock offs from the bulk bins. In my opinion they taste just as great at the “real” deal only minus the hydrogenated oils (aka trans fat) which is a huge plus in my book.

Back to business for the rest of the afternoon! Hope everyone is having a great day! (or a least a great day for a Monday :))

