Tags

, , , ,

This evening I signed up for my first ever legit gym membership. I’ve been going to gyms on and off for the past 6 years but luckily I’ve never had to pay for a membership before. Both Navyguy and I love being able to use the base gyms, but since we’ve moved the base is a lot farther away and we wanted to try joining a gym closer to our house. This particular gym offers a month to month membership so we figured we’d try it out for awhile and if its worth it then we’ll stick with it, if not it we’ll be back to the good old base gym.

I grabbed some dried mango and papaya to eat on the way to the gym.

IMG_2971.JPG

I love how portable dried fruit is. It would make a great substitute for fruit roll ups and other chewy fruit snacks in kids lunches.

This gym just so happens to be in a really fun area, right next door we have wine awhile…

IMG_2972.JPG

It’s an awesome little wine bar that not only has sushi night every Tuesday, but also has a self-serve wine tasting bar! I’ll save those exciting details for another post… tomorrow is Tuesday 🙂

And then right across the parking lot is Creme de la Creme a cafe and desert lounge.

IMG_2973.JPG

I think that place will be impossible not to check out. I really love San Diego, but I’m really enjoying exploring this new area and finding all of the fun and unique places Charleston has to offer.

I took it pretty easy at the gym today, my legs and hips are pretty tight from the run yesterday so I focused mostly on upper body weights and finished up with a slow and east 15 minutes on the elliptical. I just wanted to warm my legs up enough to get in a good stretch session afterwards.

Dinner was quick and simple turkey soft tacos

    IMG_2974.JPG

On the side: a slightly unattractive black bean, yellow squash, mushroom, and salsa mix on top of some lettuce with corn on the cob.

IMG_2977.jpg

I guess you’ll just have to trust me, it really did taste great!

IMG_2978.JPG

I ended up stuffing one tortilla with turkey, salsa, tomatoes, and lettuce, and the other one was stuffed with the bean mix, lettuce, and tomato.

Blurry pictures

I have to admit I am having a hard time adjusting to taking food pictures in the new place. Our old San Diego apt got amazing natural light all day long and the fact of the matter is our new place gets almost none. I’m sure I’ll figure it out eventually, but in the meantime I’m sorry for that my pictures look like they’ve been taken with my cellphone. Any tips on taking pictures in low light / unnatural light? I

