Tags

, , ,

I’ve come to the realization that I’m horrible at posting when my in-laws are around. I think part of me is just nervous about having to explain the whole blog thing to them (they like to ask lots of questions) and part of me… well I don’t really know what the other part really is, but I just never seem to get in a good post while they’re around. I guess I just get type-shy around them? I love Navyguy’s parents and as far as in-laws are concerned I’m extremely lucky that we all get along so well, I just it’s just one of those things I have to work on.

Moving on, or backwards, Saturday morning I ran my first race in South Carolina! Honestly, running hasn’t exactly been top notch lately, so rather than be disappointed about not setting a PR I decided to set some non-time-related goals like:

  • Maintain a steady effort – avoid going out too fast and burning out half way
  • Stay positive and enjoy running – avoid feeling down about not being “where I should be”
  • Run “Naked” – no music and no garmin, another attempt to ignore the clock and just have fun
  • Finish happy and proud – focus on being proud of the effort instead of the time

The race had a pretty late start so the morning was nice and leisurely.

IMG_0022.JPG

I had half a whole wheat bagel with some sun butter but I actually wasn’t really hungry. I’ve never actually been nervous before a 5k, but there was something about leaving my the gadgets behind and just seeing what I could all on my own that was tying my stomach in knots.

IMG_0028.JPG

As soon as we got to the race (and make a quick potty break – hooray for real potties!) the nerves were totally gone. There were over 10,000 runners and walkers and you just couldn’t help but smile at all the love, support, and pink that was everywhere.

IMG_0025.JPG

We only had to wait about 15 minutes at the starting area and before I knew it it was time to take off.

IMG_0029.JPG

The first mile was a completely blur. I completely missed the first mile marker, it wasn’t until Navyguy started talking about having less than 2 miles left to go that I had even noticed. At this point I was starting to wonder if I hadn’t started out too fast, I felt like I wouldn’t be able to maintain the same pace/effort through to the finish. I gave myself a little pep talk, tried to push out any negative thoughts, and focused on just moving forward. I reminded myself that my only real goal was to finish happy and proud of my effort.

I guess it was about the half way point where I felt a second wind of energy and before I knew it we were passing the mile 2 marker with just 1.1 left to go.

IMG_0033.JPG

1.1? I can definitely push myself for another 1.1!

IMG_0032.JPG

The course was basically a down and back with a detour through a really beautiful neighbor hood. The neighborhood loop was a lot longer than I thought so by the time we came back onto the main road it felt like the finish line was just around the corner.

IMG_0036.JPG

The last 1/2 mile or so was a total blue, I completely zoned out and just focused on crossing the finish line.

Even though I didn’t set a specific time goal I had a hard time not keeping my previous finishing time in the back of my mind. I crossed the finish line in 35:08 – 2.5 minutes slower than my best time and 1 minute faster than my slowest time, but at the end of that race I felt so much better than any other 5k I’ve run. I was so proud of myself for pushing as hard as I could and I actually ended up pacing about 20 seconds per mile faster than I thought I would. This was also my first run in over a month that I’ve finished without any walking.

It had been over 6 months since I had run in an actual race and I almost forgot how much I love it! This was an awesome kick start to the racing season and I can’t wait for the next race (next weekend!!).

