Tags

,

This weekend was so relaxing! It was my first Halloween in a long time that I wasn’t living in a dorm or an apt. I really enjoyed handing out candy and just hanging out at home. The only downside is that after so much down time this weekend I’m still in chill out mode and can’t really think of anything exciting to say. Typical Monday side effect.

To keep things simple here is the Best Tuna Salad I’ve Ever Made:

IMG_0173.JPG

Growing up tuna salad was as simple as it got: a can of tuna and a huge dollop of mayo, the end. I loved it. I’d eat it pretty regularly on sandwiches, on saltine crackers, and my favorite, in a bowl with pretzels to dip. The first time I had a tuna salad sandwich at a deli I remember being surprised that there was celery in the mix. It was delicious and I haven’t made the plain on tuna+mayo combo since.

IMG_0175.JPG

Today’s Mix:

  • 1 small can of tuna
  • 1 small dollop of mayo
  • some brown mustard
  • 1 small diced celery stalk
  • 1 small diced dill pickle
  • 5 or 6 sliced black olives
  • a few shakes of smokehouse black pepper

IMG_0176.JPG

Top with diced tomatoes. I’m not a huge fan of mayo on its own but there is something really special about the tuna + mayo combo and the tomato + mayo combo.

IMG_0177.JPG

Especially after a weekend full of candy I’m trying to keep up with upping the veggies. Sauteed mushrooms and asparagus on the side.

IMG_0178.JPG

IMG_0179.JPG

In other news: I have not been into running recently. Most of the week my legs still felt really tired from the half last weekend. I got in one decent 3 mile run, but other than that I’ve been walking and using the elliptical. The plus side is that I’ve actually been into strength training recently!

Do you like tuna salad? What do you put in it?

