Tags

, , ,

I always used to apologize for being a “bad blogger” when I missed a day of posting. I don’t really believe that there is such a thing as a “bad” blogger anymore, but I do still feel a little crappy when I skip posting for no good reason. Well, ok, sometimes sitting on the couch watching a movie and just relaxing with loved ones is a good reason, but last night I really had no good reason. Really I only feel bad because I actually like posting and I actually love this little blog very much. I definitely would have felt better over here than I did wallowing in the funk I was in last night.

So. about yesterday…

Its been pretty gloomy the past couple of days and rain was on the forecast for the entire evening. Since I knew I’d be stuck in the house most of the evening I decided to go for a walk while it was still dry out and get some errands taken care of.

IMG_0189.jpg IMG_0190.jpg

A) It’s amazing how nice it feels to just go for a walk sometimes.

B) I love living in a neighborhood where I can walk to places like the library and grocery store.

C) Sadly there is no place within walking distance to grab a coffee (sad for me, happy for my wallet).

D) I was actually excited to have to put on a real jacket to go outside!

I bought a couple of bell peppers the other day for the sole purpose of making stuffed peppers and after getting back from my chilly walk it was the perfect time to make them.

IMG_0195.JPG

Stuffed peppers is probably one of my top 5 favorite things to make. What I love most about them is how versatile the recipe is. Really all you need are bell peppers and some kind of tomato based rice filling, and honestly, I think even that part is up for interpretation. Usually I start with a little bit of ground beef, tomato sauce, and rice and then grab whatever else in the fridge sounds good.

IMG_0193.JPG

Stuffed Pepper Recipe of the Day:

  • 2 Green Bell Peppers, tops cut off and de-seeded
  • 4 ounces lean ground beef
  • 2-3 thin slices of deli salami
  • 5 thin stalks of asparagus, diced
  • a random handful of leftover spaghetti squash
  • half a cup more or less of leftover brown rice
  • half a cup more or less of leftover tomato sauce
  • seasoning to taste (I didn’t use much since most of my leftovers where already seasoned)
  1. Brown up the ground beef with the salami. (I added in the salami mostly just because I had it and because I was hoping to add more of a sausage-like flavor to the mix without having to actually go out and get sausage)
  2. Add in the asparagus and cook until slightly soft, not mushy
  3. Throw in the spaghetti squash and tomato sauce and let simmer
  4. This is the part where you would normally stuff the peppers and bake them in the oven at 350 for about 40 minutes. But if you’re lazy like me and want to eat now, you might cut your peppers in half, toss them into a loosely covered microwave bowl covered in water, and steam them in the microwave for 4-6 minutes. Meanwhile adding however much rice you like to the stuffing and then letting it simmer a little bit longer until the spaghetti squash has all but dissolved, but the asparagus still has a slight crispness to it. Then you might drain the peppers, stuff the peppers, drizzle a little bit of tomato sauce on top, and then stuff you face.  

IMG_0192.JPG

Delicious, veggie-filled, and super comforting in less than 20 minutes.

Top 5 favorite things to cook** (in no specific order)

  1. Chicken Noodle Soup
  2. Chili
  3. Fondant
  4. Stuffed Peppers
  5. Biscuits

**subject to change daily

What do you love to cook?

